اقرأ سفينة الفضاء SOHO تكشف أسرار نجمنا. لماذا تهتز الشمس؟ من أين تأتي العواصف المغناطيسية المدمرة؟ قدّم المرصد الشمسي الجديد في مقدمة الأرض بعض الإجابات والأفكار الجديدة في أول عامين من استخدامه. لا تزال كتل الغاز المنبعثة على الشمس تخفي الكثير من الأسرار. لذلك لا يزال علماء الفلك لا يعرفون ما الذي يسبب دورة النشاط لمدة أحد عشر عامًا - وأبرز ما يلفت الانتباه هو المظهر الدوري للبقع الداكنة على سطح الطاقة الشمسية. على قدم المساواة مفتوحة هي مسألة أصل الرياح الشمسية ، التي تخترق النظام الشمسي كتيار من الجسيمات المشحونة كهربائيا. المحير بشكل خاص هو الآلية التي تسخن الهالة لأكثر من مليون درجة.

تحاول SOHO ، "مرصد الطاقة الشمسية والهيليوسفيرية" ، حل هذه المشكلات لمدة عامين. تم تطوير المرصد الشمسي تحت إشراف وكالة الفضاء الأوروبية وكالة الفضاء الأوروبية ويتم تشغيله مع وكالة الفضاء الأمريكية ناسا. في 2 كانون الأول (ديسمبر) 1995 ، أطلقت مركبة فضائية تبلغ مساحتها نحو طنين من ميناء كيب كانافيرال في فلوريدا في الفضاء. بعد شهرين وصلت إلى مركزها النهائي ، وهو ما يسمى نقطة لاغرانج L1.

هذا هو أفضل موقع ممكن لمراقبة الشمس ، حيث تبعد حوالي 1.5 مليون كيلومتر عن الأرض في اتجاه الشمس ، حيث تقوم قوى الجذب لكلا الأجرام السماوية بإلغاء بعضها البعض. لذا ، يمكن لـ SOHO - التي تهاجمها الخيوط غير المرئية على الأرض - أن تدور حول الشمس مع كوكبنا دون حجب الرؤية المفتوحة. من هذا الموقع المكشوف ، من الممكن لأول مرة مراقبة الشمس دون أي إزعاج تمامًا لسنوات.

SOHO لديها 11 أداة علمية على متن الطائرة. وهي تسجل الأشعة فوق البنفسجية للشمس والحقول المغناطيسية ودرجات الحرارة والمادة وتدفقات الطاقة داخل الهالة وفي منطقة انتقالها إلى سطح الطاقة الشمسية. أدوات أخرى التحقيق في توزيع الطاقة في الرياح الشمسية وتحديد التركيب الكيميائي. في ثلاث تجارب لـ SOHO ، يتم قياس الاهتزازات التي تتسبب في أن يهز الجزء الغازي بأكمله من الشمس دون توقف ، على غرار الجرس المضروب. عرض

هذه الاهتزازات الإيقاعية ناتجة عن موجات صوتية تمر عبر الشمس على مسارات منحنية بأطوال مختلفة وتنعكس مرارًا وتكرارًا على سطحها. كل موجة صوت لها تردد معين - عادة ما يكون في حدود بضعة مللي هرتز. يشبه تراكبهم - غير مسموع - "أغنية الشمس".

تسمح دراسة الزلازل الشمسية Helio ، وهي دراسة الاهتزازات الشمسية ، بإلقاء نظرة عميقة أسفل الوجه المألوف لنجمنا. يمكن الحصول على معلومات حول البنية الداخلية للشمس من الترددات والمسافات وأوقات العبور للموجات الصوتية الفردية.

تسجل أدوات قياس SOHO حركات سطح الشمس على بعد أمتار قليلة بمساعدة تأثير دوبلر: اعتمادًا على ما إذا كانت كتل الغاز ترتفع أو تسقط في إحدى مناطق الشمس ، فإن طيف الضوء المنبعث هناك يتحول إلى ترددات أعلى أو منخفضة قليلاً. تحدد "Michelson Doppler Imager" على متن SOHO الحركة الرأسية لما يقرب من مليون نقطة على سطح الطاقة الشمسية مرة واحدة في الدقيقة. تحدد المحاكاة الحاسوبية توزيع درجة الحرارة والكثافة داخل الشمس.

تم تأكيد النتائج من خلال نماذج من علماء الفيزياء الفلكية من بناء الشمس. كما أنها تظهر أنه في المنطقة الحدودية بين منطقة الحمل الحراري - المنطقة الخارجية من الكرة الأرضية الشمسية - ومنطقة الإشعاع الأساسية ، تمتزج الغازات المضطربة العنيفة مع بعضها البعض. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تدور مناطق الحمل الحراري والإشعاع بسرعات مختلفة. حوالي 200000 كيلومتر تحت سطح هذا يؤدي إلى قوى القص قوية. جنبا إلى جنب مع الاضطراب ، يمكن أن تكون مسؤولة عن ظهور المجال المغناطيسي الشمسي.

ربما تلعب الحقول المغناطيسية دوراً حاسماً في العديد من العمليات في الشمس ، بما في ذلك تسخين الهالة. لعقود من الزمان ، كان علماء الفلك في حيرة: لماذا يكون الهالة أكثر بحوالي ألف مرة من سطح الشمس ، الذي يبلغ حوالي 5800 درجة مئوية؟ لا يوجد مصدر للحرارة في الهالة نفسها ، تدفق الحرارة من المناطق الباردة الأساسية غير ممكن وفقًا لقوانين الفيزياء. لذلك يجب أن تكون هناك آلية أخرى تنقل الطاقة إلى الهالة.

لقد اتخذت أدوات SOHO الآن العلماء على دربهم. يظهرون أن سطح الشمس مغطى بسجادة من حلقات مغناطيسية لا تعد ولا تحصى - تقاطع الحقول المغناطيسية ، كل منها يبدأ من عمود مغناطيسي موجب على السطح وينتهي عند عمود سالب. عادة بعد بضعة أيام من تشكيلها ، تنفتح هذه الهياكل قصيرة العمر ، ونهاياتها المفتوحة ثم تتحرك بحرية. إذا التقى طرفان باتجاهات المجال المغنطيسي المختلفة ، تحدث دائرة كهربائية قصيرة تُطلق كميات هائلة من الطاقة في الغلاف الجوي الشمسي.

كما تشارك الحقول المغناطيسية في تكوين الريح الشمسية. لفترة طويلة ، عرف علماء الفلك أن الرياح الشمسية تتكون من جزأين من محتوى الطاقة المختلفة: تتحرك الجزيئات البطيئة بسرعة حوالي 400 كيلومتر في الثانية ، في حين أن الجزيئات الأسرع تجعلها أسرع مرتين.

تظهر ملاحظات "مطياف التآكل بالأشعة فوق البنفسجية" الصادر عن SOHO أن الجزء الأبطأ من الرياح الشمسية يأتي من المنطقة الاستوائية ، حيث تتدفق المادة على طول خطوط المجال المغناطيسي إلى الفضاء. الجزيئات الأكثر حيوية ، من ناحية أخرى ، لها أصول في المناطق القطبية. هناك ، تكون خطوط المجال المغنطيسي مفتوحة وتعمل كمسرع. أنها تدفع الجزيئات المشحونة كهربائيا التي تتبخر من الشمس إلى مستويات غير مسبوقة بسرعات عالية جدا. بالقرب من أعمدة الشمس أيضًا ، اكتشف الباحثون البريطانيون مؤخرًا الأعاصير العملاقة باستخدام مطياف SOHO. كل واحد منهم تقريبا كبير مثل الأرض ، داخل رياح الأعاصير الشمسية الرياح بسرعة تصل إلى 500،000 كيلومتر في الساعة.

مرارًا وتكرارًا تطلق ما يطلق عليه قذف الكتلة الإكليلية مليارات الأطنان من المادة في الفضاء. هذه الانفجارات الضخمة هي المسؤولة عن العواصف المغناطيسية على الأرض التي يمكن أن تعطل الاتصالات اللاسلكية وتتسبب في انقطاع التيار الكهربائي. تصدر الإلكترونات المحاصرة في الدرع المغناطيسي للأرض عن طريق العواصف المغناطيسية. وباعتبارها "إلكترونات قاتلة" عالية الطاقة ، فإنها يمكن أن تتلف إلكترونيات الأقمار الصناعية وتعرض رواد الفضاء للخطر أثناء السير في الفضاء. حتى الآن ، بذلت محاولات للتنبؤ بالعواصف المغناطيسية الناتجة عن "التوهجات" الشمسية التي يسهل رصدها من الأرض. هذه هي مناطق ساخنة بقوة من الغلاف الجوي الشمسي. معدل نجاح مثل هذه التنبؤات ضئيل إلى حد ما: فقط حوالي ثلث التوهج يجذب عاصفة مغناطيسية. توفر SOHO الفرصة لمراقبة المخارج الجماعية الإكليلية مباشرةً ، وبالتالي تعد بتوقعات أكثر موثوقية.

في العام الماضي ، سجل التحقيق تسعة انفجارات خلال سبعة أشهر. في كل مرة اندلعت عاصفة مغناطيسية على الأرض بعد بضعة أيام. يأمل علماء الفيزياء الفلكية في أن يكونوا قادرين على استخدام نماذج الحوسبة للتنبؤ بقوة بيانات SOHO في المستقبل.

والمفتوح حتى الآن هو ما يسبب دورة الشمس الحادية عشرة. يمكن أن يكون مرتبطًا بتيارات البلازما الكبيرة أسفل السطح الشمسي التي حوصرها SOHO. تتدفق تدفقات الغازات المؤينة حول المناطق القطبية للشمس على عمق حوالي 40،000 ميل. وتذكرنا بقوة التيارات النفاثة الأرضية: رياح عمودية سريعة تهب حول العالم على خطوط متعرجة. تشبه تدفقات البلازما الأخرى الرياح التجارية على الأرض. غالبا ما تحدث جنبا إلى جنب مع بقع من البقع الشمسية ، كما سيكون حوالي عام 2000. ثم يأمل العلماء في اكتشاف سر الدورة الشمسية أيضًا.

=== رالف جزار

العلوم

موصى به اختيار المحرر

Read out The spaceship SOHO unveils the secrets of our star. Why is the sun vibrating? Where do the devastating magnetic storms come from? The new solar observatory in the forecourt of the earth has provided some answers and new insights in the first two years of its use. The seething gas masses on the sun still hide many secrets. So astronomers still do not know what causes the eleven-year cycle of activity - its most striking feature is the periodic appearance of dark spots on the solar surface. Equally open is the question of the origin of the solar wind, which penetrates the solar system as a stream of electrically charged particles. Particularly puzzling is the mechanism that heats the corona to well over a million degrees.

SOHO, the "Solar and Heliospheric Observatory", has been trying to solve such problems for two years. The solar observatory was developed under the direction of the European Space Agency ESA and is operated together with the American Nasa. On December 2, 1995 launched the approximately two -ton spacecraft from the Cape Canaveral spaceport in Florida in space. Two months later she had reached her final position, the so-called Lagrange point L1.

This is the best possible location for observing the sun. About 1.5 million kilometers away from the earth in the direction of the sun, the attraction forces of the two celestial bodies cancel each other out. So SOHO - lashed by invisible threads over the earth - can orbit the sun with our planet without ever obscuring the open view. From this exposed position it is possible for the first time to observe the sun completely undisturbed for years.

SOHO has eleven scientific instruments on board. They register the UV radiation of the sun, magnetic fields, temperatures, matter and energy flows within the corona and in their transition area to the solar surface. Other instruments investigate the energy distribution in the solar wind and determine its chemical composition. In three SOHO experiments, vibrations are measured that cause the entire gas sphere of the sun to shake nonstop, similar to a battered bell. display

These rhythmic vibrations are caused by sound waves that pass through the sun on curved paths of different lengths and are reflected again and again on their surface. Each sound wave has a certain frequency - usually in the range of a few millihertz. Their superposition resembles a - inaudible - "song of the sun".

Helio seismology, the study of solar vibrations, allows a look deep below the familiar face of our home star. Information about the internal structure of the sun can be obtained from the frequencies, the distances and the transit times of individual sound waves.

To do so, the SOHO measuring instruments register movements of the sun's surface to a few meters with the help of the Doppler effect: Depending on whether the gas masses rise or fall in one area of ​​the sun, the spectrum of the light emitted there is shifted to slightly higher or lower frequencies. The "Michelson Doppler Imager" aboard SOHO determines the vertical movement of nearly one million points on the solar surface once per minute. Computer simulations determine the distribution of temperature and density inside the sun.

The results were confirmed by models of astrophysicists from the construction of the sun. They also show that in the boundary area between the convection zone - the outer area of ​​the solar globe - and the underlying radiation zone, the gases in violent turbulence mix with each other. In addition, the convection and radiation zones rotate at different speeds. About 200, 000 kilometers below the surface this leads to strong shear forces. Together with the turbulence, they could be responsible for the emergence of the solar magnetic field.

Magnetic fields probably play a crucial role in many processes in the sun, including heating up the corona. For decades, astronomers were puzzled: why is the corona almost a thousand times hotter than the sun's surface, which is around 5800 degrees Celsius? There is no heat source in the corona itself, a heat flow from the underlying cooler areas is not possible according to the laws of physics. So there must be another mechanism that transfers energy into the corona.

The SOHO instruments have now taken the scientists on their trail. They show that the sun's surface is covered by a carpet of countless magnetic loops - arcuate magnetic fields, each starting from a positive magnetic pole on the surface and ending at a negative pole. Usually a few days after their formation, these short-lived structures break open, their open ends then move freely around. If two ends meet with different magnetic field directions, a short-circuit occurs which releases huge amounts of energy into the solar atmosphere.

Magnetic fields are also probably involved in the formation of the solar wind. For a long time, astronomers have known that the solar wind is made up of two parts of different energy content: slower particles move around at around 400 kilometers per second, while faster ones make it twice as fast.

Observations of the "Ultraviolet Coronograph Spectrometer" by SOHO show that the slower part of the solar wind comes from the equatorial region, where matter flows along the magnetic field lines into space. The more energetic particles, on the other hand, have their origins in polar regions. There, the magnetic field lines are open and act as an accelerator. They propel electrically charged particles that evaporate from the sun to unprecedented levels at very high speeds. Also near the sun's poles, British researchers recently discovered giant cyclones using the SOHO spectrometer. Each one of them is almost as big as the earth, inside the solar tornadoes romp winds at speeds up to 500, 000 kilometers per hour.

Again and again so-called coronal mass ejections throw billions of tons of matter into space. These massive explosions are responsible for magnetic storms over the earth that can disrupt radio communications and cause power outages. Electrons trapped in Earth's magnetic shield are released by magnetic storms. As high-energy "killer electrons" they can damage the electronics of satellites and endanger astronauts during spacewalks. So far, attempts have been made to predict magnetic storms from solar "flares" that are easier to observe from Earth. These are strongly heated areas of the solar atmosphere. The success rate of such predictions is rather meager: Only about every third flare attracts a magnetic storm. SOHO offers the opportunity to directly observe the coronal mass ejections and thus promises much more reliable forecasts.

Last year, the probe registered nine such explosions within seven months. Each time a magnetic storm raged over the earth a few days later. Astrophysicists hope to be able to use computing models to predict the strength of such SOHO data in the future.

So far, what is open is what causes the eleven-year cycle of the sun. It could be related to large plasma streams below the solar surface that SOHO has trapped. Flows of ionized gases flow around the polar regions of the Sun at a depth of around 40, 000 miles. They are strongly reminiscent of terrestrial jet currents: fast vertical winds that blow around the globe on meandering streamlines. Other plasma flows resemble the trade winds on earth. They often occur together with patches of sunspots, as it will be around the year 2000. Then the scientists hope to discover the secret of the solar cycle as well.

=== Ralf Butscher

science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice