قراءة الضوء بصوت عال تكشف كل أسرار العالم. من اليراع إلى الانفجار الكبير: الفوتونات تضيء طبيعة كل من العالم الصغير والعالم الكلي. إنهم ينقلون الطاقة والمعلومات - ويجعلون الحياة ممكنة. يعرف الباحثون الآن عن ولادة الضوء الأول ، ربما قبل 15 مليار سنة. تم إنشاؤه بواسطة حرارة الانفجار الكبير وتدمير المادة والمواد المضادة في الثواني الأولى من الكون. حتى عدد الفوتونات في الكون الذي يمكن ملاحظته يمكن تقديره: حوالي 1089 - مليار مرة أكثر من عدد الذرات.

لا يزال الضوء يولد من جديد: بالاندماج النووي من 10 إلى 150 مليون درجة داخل النجوم. من هناك ، ومع ذلك ، لا يمكن أن يطير مباشرة ، ولكن - كما هو الحال في الكون الشاب - يصرف باستمرار عن طريق الإلكترونات دوامة والنواة الذرية. وبالتالي ، في مسار متعرج منذ قرن من الزمان ، يتعين عليها أن تقاتل طريقها إلى الفضاء. من سطح شمسنا ، يحتاج الضوء فقط إلى ثماني دقائق من الأرض. عند الاستحمام الشمسي ، فإن عشرة مليارات فوتون في الثانية تتساقط على كل سنتيمتر مربع من الجلد. تسافر جزيئات أخرى من الرياح الشمسية ، وخاصة الإلكترونات والبروتونات ، من 20 إلى 50 ساعة. على الرغم من أن المجال المغناطيسي الأرضي يحميهم إلى حد كبير - ولكن في بعض الأحيان يرتد البعض في الغلاف الجوي. ثم يقدمون - خاصة في خطوط العرض الشمالية والجنوبية المرتفعة - الشفق الغاضب. يتم إنشاء ألوانها الزرقاء والبنفسجية عن طريق إثارة ذرات النيتروجين في الهواء ، ويأتي اللون الأخضر من الأكسجين. كما لوحظت أضواء قطبية في كوكب المشتري وكوكب زحل.

ومع ذلك ، لا يتم إنشاء الضوء فقط عن طريق حرق المادة في درجات حرارة عالية. تجلب الطبيعة أيضًا ظواهر مضيئة أبرد. على سبيل المثال ، مضان: بعض الذرات أو الجزيئات تبتلع الطاقة ، وبالتالي توضع في حالة مثيرة وتحرر هذه الطاقة خلال مليون من الثانية كضوء مرة أخرى. على سبيل المثال ، تعتمد شاشات التلفزيون وأنابيب الفلورسنت على هذا المبدأ. إضافات كيميائية في المنظفات تتوهج في الأشعة فوق البنفسجية لضوء النهار. يضيف هذا اللون الأزرق إلى الأصفر من بقايا الجير ويعطي "أبيض ناصع".

الكائنات الحية أيضًا يمكن أن تنتج الضوء بطريقة باردة - وهي عملية تعرف باسم التلألؤ الحيوي. فهي تتطلب الطاقة والنشاط الحفاز لأنزيمات معينة ، وهي الكلسات. أنها أكسدة بعض المركبات الكربونية ، luciferins ، وتنتج توهج مزرق أو أخضر. تحتوي بعض الحشرات والأسماك على خلايا ضوئية خاصة بها ، وغالبًا ما تصطف عليها بلورات عاكسة. من هذه الخلايا ، يضيء الضوء العضوي عبر جلد الحيوانات. حتى يتمكنوا من التواصل مع بعضهم البعض أو جذب الحيوانات المغذية. عرض

على سبيل المثال ، يستخدم الضوء أيضًا للعثور على شركاء. في ليلة يونيو الدافئة ، تتلألأ اليراعات في ذروة الحب: فالحشرات الذكور ترقص في الهواء ، بينما تجلس الإناث ، المعروفة باسم التنوب أو دودة الجراد ، بشكل متوقع في العشب وتعود خلفها بريق خلفي. بالنسبة لبعض الذكور من جنس Photinus ، فإن رقصة الحب تنتهي قاتلة. لأن الإناث من جنس اليراعات Photuris تحاكي الإشارات المغازلة للسيدات Photinus - ومثل الذكور Photinus ذات الرأس الخفيف لتناول الطعام.

=== روديجر فاس

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

Reading aloud Light reveals all the secrets of the world. From the firefly to the big bang: Photons illuminate the nature of both the microcosm and the macrocosm. They transfer energy and information - and they make life possible. The researchers now know about the birth of the first light, perhaps 15 billion years ago. It was created by the heat of the Big Bang and the destruction of matter and antimatter in the first seconds of the cosmos. Even the number of photons in the observable universe can be estimated: around 1089 - a billion times more than the number of atoms.

Light is still being reborn: by nuclear fusion at 10 to 150 million degrees inside the stars. From there, however, it can not fly straight out, but - as in the young universe - is constantly distracted by swirling electrons and atomic nuclei. Thus, in a century-long zigzagging course, it has to fight its way to space. From the surface of our sun, the light needs only eight minutes to the earth. When sunbathing, ten billion photons per second patter on every square centimeter of skin. Other particles of the solar wind, mainly electrons and protons, travel 20 to 50 hours. Although the terrestrial magnetic field largely shields them - but sometimes some bounce on the atmosphere. Then they provide - especially in high northern and southern latitudes - for furious auroras. Their blue and violet colors are created by excitation of nitrogen atoms in the air, green comes from the oxygen. Polar lights have also been observed in the planets Jupiter and Saturn.

However, light is not only created by the burning up of matter at high temperatures. Nature also brings cooler luminous phenomena. For example, the fluorescence: Some atoms or molecules swallow energy, are thereby put into an excited state and release this energy within a millionth of a second as light again. For example, television screens and fluorescent tubes are based on this principle. Chemical additives in detergents fluoresce bluish in the ultraviolet of daylight; this blue adds up to the yellow of lime residues and gives "bright white".

Living things too can produce light in a cold way - a process known as bioluminescence. It requires energy and the catalytic activity of specific enzymes, the luciferases. They oxidize certain carbon compounds, the luciferins, producing a bluish or green glow. Some insects and fish have their own light cells, which are often lined with reflective crystals. From these cells, the organic light shines through the skin of the animals. So they can communicate with each other or attract nutritious animals. display

For example, light is also used to find partners. In a warm June night, fireflies sparkle in the rush of love: the male insects dance through the air, while the females, known as the fir or locust worm, sit expectantly in the grass and fly back with a bright behind. For some males of the genus Photinus, however, the love dance ends fatally. Because females of the fireflies genus Photuris mimic the flirting signals of the Photinus ladies - and like the light-headed Photinus males to eat.

=== Rüdiger Vaas

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice