القراءة بصوت عالٍ بالمعنى الدقيق للكلمة ، ليس الكسوف الكلي للشمس على الأرض كليًا تمامًا. لأن الشمس أكبر بكثير مما يبدو لنا. إذا كان القمر يغطي القرص الشمسي المرئي ، فسيتم الكشف عن الغلاف الجوي الشمسي الخارجي: إشعاع أبيض حليبي يمكن أن يمتد بعيدًا إلى الغرفة حتى 20 شعاعًا شمسيًا. هذا الهالة ("التاج ، اكليلا من الزهور") هو أكثر هشاشة مليون مرة من السطح الشمسي المرئي ، الغلاف الضوئي. لذلك ، لا يمكن ملاحظتها إلا عندما يقزم القمر - أو جهاز خاص في التلسكوب - مساحة الصورة. على هذا النحو ، انتقل موشنشيد على طول شريط ضيق من مضيق بيرينغ عبر أمريكا الشمالية إلى ولاية كارولينا الشمالية عند الكسوف الشمسي في 7 أغسطس 1869 ، قام تشارلز أ. يونغ وغيره من علماء الطاقة الأمريكيين باكتشاف مذهل. على طول موجي معين في الضوء الأخضر ، أظهر طيف الهالة خطًا ساطعًا ، يجب أن ينبعث من نوع محدد جدًا من الذرة. ولكن لا يوجد عنصر معروف على وجه الأرض لديه هذه الخاصية. وحتى على سطح الشمس ، فإن خطوط الانبعاثات هذه لا يمكن اكتشافها. يجب أن يكون عنصر غير معروف حتى الآن ، لذلك ، يشتبه الباحثون. بعد بضع سنوات ، حصلت على اسم: كورونيوم. في عام 1940 فقط ، استطاع الفيزيائي السويدي بنجت إيدلين أن يدحض هذه الفرضية. اكتشف أن الخط الأخضر مشتق من ذرات الحديد. لكن يجب أن يكون هؤلاء قد فقدوا 13 من 26 إلكترونًا ، لذا تأينوا بشدة لإظهار الخاصية الطيفية. كان الدهشة مثاليًا: فبالنسبة لـ 13 مرة تكون درجات حرارة الاكليل الحديدي المتأين أكثر من مليون درجة مطلوبة. وهذا متناقض. كيف يمكن أن يكون الهالة أكثر من 200 مرة أكثر سخونة من درجة حرارة 5500 درجة أدناه؟ نظرًا لأن الحرارة تتدفق من مركز الطاقة الشمسية الذي يبلغ حوالي 15 مليون درجة إلى الفضاء البارد ، وكلما زادت المسافة من مركز الشمس ، زاد برودة. لماذا يكون للهالة درجات حرارة تتراوح بين 150،000 و 300،000 كيلومتر تحت الصورة؟

حقيقة أن الهالة هي حقيقة أن الأشعة السينية أثبتت أنها ساخنة ، والتي يتم إطلاقها فقط هناك ، ولكن ليس على سطح الشمس. لذلك يجب أن يكون هناك آلية المادية التي تسخن الهالة فوق الغلاف الضوئي. لكن أي مصدر للطاقة مسؤول عن هذا وكيف يتم نقل الحرارة داخل الإكليل كان أحد الأسئلة العظيمة التي لم يتم حلها لفيزياء الطاقة الشمسية منذ عقود.

وفي الوقت نفسه ، يعرف علماء الفلك تمامًا تركيبة الغاز المؤين الذي يتكون من الهالة. إنهم يعلمون أن مجد الشمس منخفض الكثافة إلى درجة أنه لا يمكن لأي فراغ تم إنشاؤه في المختبر على الأرض أن ينافسه سوى عشرة غرامات من المادة لكل مليون متر مكعب. ووجدوا أن الهالة تتخللها غابة برية من خطوط المجال المغناطيسي. عندما لا ينحنون مرة أخرى على سطح الشمس ولكن يمتد إلى الفضاء كخطوط مفتوحة ، فإن الهالة لها ثقوب ضخمة. هناك أقل كثافة بنسبة 30 في المائة وأكثر برودة مرتين إلى خمس مرات.

ولكن كل هذه النتائج لا تعطي أي تفسير لآلية التدفئة. تم تطوير العديد من المضاربات مع مرور الوقت لحل اللغز: أن حبيبات الغبار من الفضاء تسقط على الشمس ، وتطلق الطاقة الحركية ؛ تنتشر تلك الموجات الصوتية من داخل الشمس عبر جسيمات مشحونة كهربائيًا إلى الهالة وتولد موجات صدمة هناك أو أن الطاقة تأتي من المجال المغناطيسي. لقد قيل الكثير عن الفرضية الأخيرة. على سبيل المثال ، اكتشف المرصد الأمريكي-الأوروبي (SOHO) (مرصد الطاقة الشمسية والفضاء الشمسي) عدد لا يحصى من الحلقات المغناطيسية التي تغطي سطح الشمس مثل السجاد ، وتجدد نفسها كل 40 ساعة. عرض

يتذكر جوزيف جورمان من مركز جودارد للفضاء التابع لناسا ، مدير مشروع سوهو الأمريكي: "عندما رأيت البيانات لأول مرة ، كدت أن أسقط من مقعدي". "قد يكون هذا مصدرًا غامضًا للطاقة". وقد واجه الباحثون وابلًا حقيقيًا من الانفجارات عند الشريط الحدودي لخلايا الحمل الحراري - فقاعات الغاز الصاعدة من باطن الشمس ، والتي تغطي سطح الشمس مثل شبكة من عسل العسل الذي يبلغ طوله 30 ألف كيلومتر. تندلع كرات النار لبضع دقائق وهي بحجم الأرض - وهي أصغر بكثير من "القنابل" الضخمة ، التي تقذف كميات كبيرة من الشمس بشكل متكرر إلى الفضاء. يصف ريتشارد هاريسون من مختبر رذرفورد أبليتون في أوكسفوردشاير بإنجلترا الكرات النارية "بوميض الشمس": "تبدو وكأنها تطلق طاقة مغناطيسية وتطلقها بطريقة ما في الهالة".

يقدر أرنولد بنز وزملاؤه في المعهد الفيدرالي السويسري للتكنولوجيا في زيوريخ أن ما يصل إلى 20 ألف ومضة من البرق في الثانية يتم تفريغها على سطح الطاقة الشمسية وأنها تستند إلى نوع من ماس كهربائى. هذه تحدث عندما تصطدم الخطوط المغناطيسية المتوترة للغاية وتكسر. وهذا يسمح بتسخين فقاعات الغاز الفردية إلى مليار درجة وتسريعها أيضًا. ثم يتم توزيع الغاز بسرعة في الهالة ويبرد خلال ربع ساعة ، حسب ما يعتقد الباحثون.

يقول فيليب شيرير من جامعة ستانفورد ، آلية التسخين المزعومة للهالة ، "لذلك لا يوجد حريق غابات ، ولكن هناك آلاف عديدة من حرائق المخيمات". "لكننا ما زلنا لا نعرف كيف يتم نقل الطاقة من السجاد الحقل المغناطيسي إلى الإكليل." وربما كورونا Paradox الآن حتى تنعكس إلى الطرف الآخر. يقول جورمان: "في الوقت نفسه ، قمنا بتتبع أكثر من مصادر طاقة كافية لتسخين الهالة". "حتى ألف مرة أكثر مما نحتاج".

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، كانت هناك فرضية خلاف أخرى منذ شهر مايو: اكتشف رون مور من مركز مارشال لرحلات الفضاء التابع لناسا وزملاؤه "microfilares" بمساعدة من SOHO والقمر الصناعي الياباني للأشعة السينية Yokoh - التوهجات الشمسية أكبر من الأرض خلال خمس دقائق. الافراج عن طاقة عشرة ملايين قنبلة هيدروجينية. وهي تكتسح باستمرار سطح الشمس وتسخن الهالة باستمرار.

هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من الملاحظات لفضح مصادر الحرارة وقياس تدفق الطاقة بشكل أكثر دقة. لعام 2004 ، تم التخطيط لإطلاق المسبار الدولي Solar-B تحت إشراف وكالة الفضاء اليابانية ISAS. يجب أن تكرس نفسها بشكل رئيسي لدراسة الهالة. ربما سيخطف علماء الفلك أخيراً سرهم من الجو الشمسي الخارجي الحار.

رودولف كيبنهاان ، === روديجر فاس

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

Reading aloud Strictly speaking, a total solar eclipse on Earth is not totally total. Because the sun is much bigger than it appears to us. If the moon covers the visible solar disk, the outer solar atmosphere is revealed: a milky-white radiance that can extend far out into the room up to 20 solar radii. This corona ("crown, wreath") is a million times fainter than the visible solar surface, the photosphere. Therefore, it can only be observed when the moon - or a special device in a telescope - dwarfs the photosphere. As such a Moonshade moved along a narrow strip from the Bering Strait across North America to North Carolina at the solar eclipse of August 7, 1869, Charles A. Young and other American solar scientists made a startling discovery. At a certain wavelength in the green light, the spectrum of the corona showed a bright line, which had to be emitted by a very specific type of atom. But no known element on earth has this property. And even on the sun's surface, such emission lines are undetectable. It must be a hitherto unknown element, therefore, the researchers suspected. A few years later, it even got a name: Coronium. Only in 1940 could the Swedish physicist Bengt Edlén refute this hypothesis. He found out that the green line is derived from iron atoms. But these must have lost 13 of their 26 electrons, so be highly ionized to show the spectral property. The astonishment was perfect: for 13 times ionized iron corona temperatures of over one million degrees are required. And that is paradoxical. How can the corona be more than 200 times hotter than the 5500 degree hot photosphere below? Because heat flows from the approximately 15 million degrees solar center into the cold space, and the greater the distance from the center of the sun, the cooler it gets. Why does the corona therefore have temperatures that are 150, 000 to 300, 000 kilometers below the photosphere?

That the corona is really that hot is proved by x-rays, which are released only there, but not on the sun's surface. So there must be a physical mechanism that heats the corona above the photosphere. But which energy source is responsible for this and how the heat is transported within the corona has been one of the great unresolved questions of solar physics for decades.

Meanwhile, astronomers know quite well the composition of the ionized gas that makes up the corona. They know that the Sun's glory is so low-density that no vacuum created in the lab on Earth can compete with it-only ten grams of matter per million cubic meters. And they found out that the corona is interspersed with a wild jungle of magnetic field lines. Where they do not curve back onto the sun's surface but extend into space as open lines, the corona has huge holes. There it is about 30 percent less dense and two to five times cooler.

But all these findings give no explanation for the heating mechanism. Many speculations have been developed over time to solve the puzzle: that dust grains from space fall on the sun, releasing kinetic energy; that sound waves propagate from the sun's inside via electrically charged particles to the corona and generate shock waves there or that the energy comes from the magnetic field. Much has been said for the last hypothesis. For example, the American-European SOHO (Solar and Heliospheric Observatory) has discovered a myriad of magnetic loops that cover the sun's surface like a carpet, renewing itself every 40 hours. display

"When I saw the data for the first time, I nearly fell off my chair, " recalls Joseph Gurman of NASA's Goddard Space Center, the SOHO American Project Manager. "That could be the mysterious source of energy." The researchers encountered a veritable barrage of explosions at the borderline of the convection cells - the rising gas bubbles from the sun's interior, which cover the sun's surface like a network of 30, 000-kilometer honeycombs. The fireballs blaze for a few minutes and are about the size of the Earth - so much smaller than the huge "flares", which repeatedly hurl large amounts of sun matter into space. Richard Harrison of the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory in Oxfordshire, England, calls the fireballs "solar blinkers" (sunblinkers): "They seem to release magnetic energy and somehow release it into the corona."

Arnold Benz and his colleagues at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich estimate that up to 20, 000 such flashes of lightning per second discharge on the solar surface and that they are based on a kind of magnetic short circuit. These occur when extremely strained magnetic lines collide and break. This allows individual gas bubbles to be heated to a billion degrees and also accelerated. The gas is then quickly distributed in the corona and cools down in the course of a quarter of an hour, the researchers suspect.

"So there is no forest fire, but many thousands of camp fire, " says Philip Scherrer of Stanford University, the alleged heating mechanism of the corona. "But we still do not know how the energy from the magnetic field carpet is transported into the corona." And maybe the Corona Paradox now even reverses to the other extreme. "Meanwhile, we've tracked down more than enough energy sources to heat up the corona, " says Gurman. "Even a thousand times more than we need."

In addition, there has been another contention hypothesis since May: Ron Moore of NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center and his colleagues have discovered "microfilares" with the help of SOHO and the Japanese X-ray satellite Yokoh - solar flares as big as Earth within five minutes release the energy of ten million hydrogen bombs. They constantly sweep across the sun's surface and also heat the corona continuously.

Further observations are needed to expose the heat sources and to measure the energy flows more accurately. For the year 2004, the launch of the international probe Solar-B under the direction of the Japanese Space Agency ISAS is planned. She should devote herself mainly to the study of the corona. Maybe astronomers will finally snatch their secret from the hot outer solar atmosphere.

Rudolf Kippenhahn, === Rüdiger Vaas

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice