القراءة بصوت عال لماذا يعتبر العالم كما هو حتى الآن سؤالاً للفلاسفة ، ولكن ليس للعلم ، الذي يريد فقط وصف طبيعة العالم ولا يهتم لماذا قوانين الطبيعة الأساسية هكذا كما هم. إن السؤال الفلسفي يضغط الآن على عالم الكونيات ، حيث أصبح من الواضح بشكل متزايد أنه حتى التغييرات البسيطة في الخصائص الفيزيائية الأساسية لكوننا ستكون لها عواقب وخيمة: لن تكون هناك كائنات حية ، ناهيك عن كائنات ذكية مثلنا نحن البشر الذين نصوغ قوانين الطبيعة هذه أو اكتشاف. يحتوي النموذج المعياري المادي ، الذي شارك في تأسيسه موراي غيل مان ويصف أصغر لبنات المادة ، على سبيل المثال ، على 20 ثوابت لا يمكن استنتاج قيمها من مبادئ أعمق - وهو وضع غير مرضٍ للفيزيائيين.

لكن القيمة الدقيقة لهذه الثوابت تعتمد على الذرات والجزيئات التي يمكن أن توجد على الإطلاق. وإذا كانت قوى الطبيعة الأساسية أقوى أو أضعف قليلاً ، فلن يكون هناك مدارات كوكبية مستقرة أو نجوم أو مجرات أو كان الكون قد انهار منذ فترة طويلة. وينطبق الشيء نفسه على العديد من المعالم الفيزيائية والكونية: أصغر الانحرافات عن قيمتها الفعلية سيؤدي إلى كون ممل يهدد الحياة.

لا يمكن أن يكون كل هذا من قبيل الصدفة ، لأن احتمال إنشاء الكون الصديق للحياة هو صفر عمليًا ، فيزيائيون محسوبون لقيمة مجنونة 1:10 عالية 229th لكن هذا الكون "المستحيل" - عالمنا - لا يزال هناك كل الثوابت الطبيعية في لديه القيمة اللازمة. هذا "الضبط" ليس تافهاً ، لكنه مذهل للغاية. بدونهم لن نكون موجودين. يوضح عالم الفيزياء الفلكية مارتن ريس من جامعة كامبريدج: "يبدو أن عالم أشكال الحياة الذكية قد تم تصميمه خصيصًا". حتى أن بعض العلماء يذهبون إلى حد قبول هذا كدليل على وجود قوى أعلى ، والبعض الآخر يجرؤ على الاستنتاج المغامر المغامر بأن الكون هو ما هو عليه لأنه موجود.

ولكن هل تم بالفعل إعداد المرحلة الكونية لظهور الرجل؟ هل نعيش ، كما كان ، في عالم مصنوع لقياس؟ المشكلة تذكرنا بالوضع في علم الأحياء قبل أن يطور تشارلز داروين نظريته عن التطور ، مما يتيح رؤية جديدة تمامًا للحياة. حتى ذلك الحين ، كانت العقلية "الغائية" منتشرة على نطاق واسع: لقد تم تتبع "تكيف" الكائنات الحية مع بيئتها إلى هدفها المتأصل أو خطتها الخارجية. عرض

أظهر داروين أن الخصائص الجديدة أو المعدلة ، والتي هي نتيجة للتغيرات العرضية في المادة الوراثية ، تتعرض للاختيار الصعب من قبل البيئة ، وفي بعض الأحيان تتجلى في ميزة إنجابية لشركات النقل. وبالتالي ، كان افتراض الأهداف والغايات في الطبيعة لا لزوم له - التفاعل بين الطفرة والانتقاء كافٍ كمحرك للتطور بشكل كامل.

"هل يمكن أن تأتي الخصائص الفيزيائية للكون من تفاعل مماثل بين الصدفة والضرورة؟" سألني لي سمولين مرارًا وتكرارًا. خلال رحلة إبحار ، أدهشه وميض الإلهام الذي تطوره الآن إلى فرضية استفزازية استقبلها زملاؤه ، وأحيانًا بحماس وأحيانًا بالكفر المتشكك. إذا تبين أن سمولين على حق ، فقد يطلق عليه دون مبالغة "داروين الكوني".

فكرة Smolin الأساسية هي أن الأكوان تتكاثر مثل الكائنات الحية. عند القيام بذلك ، يجب أن يتغيروا قليلاً ويتم اختيارهم من حيث خصائصهم - أي ، يخضع لتطور كوني. ولكن كيف يمكن تكرار الأكوان؟ إجابة Smolin: استخدام الثقوب السوداء لأنها تنتج عن انهيار النجوم الضخمة المحروقة. في وسط هذه الثقوب السوداء ، تصبح الكثافة ودرجة الحرارة غير منتهية ، والوقت والمكان يفقدان معناها. هذه الحالة القصوى - يطلق عليها الفردانية - يمكن أن تصبح ، وفقًا للعالم ، نواة لكون جديد ، والذي في انفجارات كبيرة ينفصل عن كونه الأصلي ويقود وجوده من الآن فصاعداً.

كيف يمكن أن يحدث هذا ، يجب أن تترك سمولين مفتوحة. لم يتم تطوير الفيزياء لدينا بما فيه الكفاية لوصف مثل هذه العمليات. النظرية القادرة على وصف جميع القوى الطبيعية بشكل موحد هي التي تجلب الوضوح هنا. في هذا الصدد ، تكون نقطة الانطلاق في سمولين مضاربة ، ولكن على الأقل يمكن التحقق منها من حيث المبدأ.

ومع ذلك ، فإن عبقرية نظره تكمن في مكان آخر: إذا استطاعت الأكوان الصغيرة حقًا الخروج من الثقوب السوداء - مثل خلايا الخميرة من نوعها - وإذا كان هناك تباين طفيف وعشوائي لقوانين الطبيعة ، فإن معدلات مختلفة لتكاثر هذه الأكوان البنت. يمكن للمرء أن يتحدث عن الداروينية الكونية.

=== روديجر فاس

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

Reading aloud Why the world is as it is has hitherto been considered a question for philosophers, but not for science, which only wants to describe the nature of the world and does not care why the fundamental laws of nature are so, as they are. The philosophical question is now also pressing for the cosmologist, as it has become increasingly clear that even minimal changes in the fundamental physical properties of our universe would have dramatic consequences: there would be no living beings, let alone intelligent creatures like us humans who formulate these laws of nature or discover. The physical standard model, which was co-founded by Murray Gell-Mann and describes the smallest building blocks of matter, contains, for example, 20 constants whose values ​​can not be deduced from deeper principles - a situation that is unsatisfactory for physicists.

But the exact value of these constants depends on which atoms and molecules can exist at all. And if the fundamental forces of nature were only slightly stronger or weaker, there would be no stable planetary orbits, no stars and galaxies, or the universe would have collapsed long ago. The same applies to many other physical and cosmological parameters: the smallest deviations from their actual value would result in a boring, life-threatening universe.

All this can hardly be a coincidence, because the probability for the creation of a life-friendly universe is practically zero, the physicists calculated for the insane value 1:10 high 229th But this "impossible" universe - our - there are still all natural constants in he has the necessary value. This "fine-tuning" is not trivial, but extremely amazing. Without them we would not exist. "It almost seems like the universe of intelligent life forms has been tailor-made, " explains astrophysicist Martin Rees of the University of Cambridge. Some scientists even go so far as to accept this as an indication of the existence of higher powers, and some even venture the adventurous converse conclusion that the universe is what it is because it exists.

But has the cosmic stage really been set up for the appearance of man? Do we live, as it were, in a universe made to measure? The problem is reminiscent of the situation in biology before Charles Darwin developed his theory of evolution, allowing a whole new view of life. Until then, a "teleological" mindset was widespread: the "adaptation" of sentient beings to their environment was traced back to their inherent purpose or outward plan. display

Darwin showed that new or modified properties, which are the result of accidental changes in the genetic material, are subjected to a hard selection by the environment and sometimes manifest in a reproductive advantage of their carriers. The assumption of purposes and goals in nature was thus superfluous - the interplay of mutation and selection is sufficient as an engine for evolution completely.

"Could the physical properties of the Universe not have come from a similar interaction of chance and necessity?" Asked Lee Smolin again and again. During a sailing trip, he was struck by the flash of inspiration, which he has now developed into a provocative hypothesis, which was received by his colleagues, sometimes with enthusiasm and sometimes with skeptical disbelief. If it should turn out that Smolin is right, he may without exaggeration be called a "cosmic Darwin."

Smolin's basic idea is that universes multiply like living beings. In doing so, they should change slightly and be selected in terms of their properties - that is, subject to a cosmic evolution. But how can universes be duplicated? Smolin's Answer: Using Black Holes as they are produced by the collapse of massive, burned-out stars. In the center of these black holes, density and temperature become infinite, space and time lose their meaning. This extreme state - one calls it singularity - could, according to the scientist, become the nucleus of a new universe, which in a big bang breaks off its original universe and henceforth leads one's own existence.

How this could happen, Smolin must leave open. Our physics is not developed enough to describe such processes. Only a theory capable of uniformly describing all natural forces will bring clarity here. In this respect, Smolin's starting point is speculative, but at least in principle verifiable.

However, the genius of his consideration lies somewhere else: If baby universes can really sprout out of black holes - like yeast cells from their peers - and if there is a slight, random variation of the laws of nature, then different rates of reproduction of these daughter universes result. One can speak of a cosmic Darwinism.

=== Rüdiger Vaas

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice