اقرأ إلى معظم الكواكب غريب الأطوار. بلوتو ، بقمرها العملاق الغامض تشارون ، هو الكوكب الوحيد لاستكشاف الفضاء حتى الآن. يعمل مهندسو وعلماء ناسا حاليًا على مشروع لزيارة القمر الصناعي المشمس واستخلاص أسراره. عالم بارد وجلي ومرير - هذا هو الشيء الوحيد الذي نعرفه عن بلوتو حتى الآن. خلاف ذلك ، فإن الجزء الخارجي في النظام الشمسي عبارة عن قائمة فارغة إلى حد ما. لم يكتشفه مسبار الفضاء عن قرب. جميع المعلومات التي لدينا عن بلوتو والقمر العملاق شارون ، الذي تم اكتشافه في عام 1978 ، تأتي من الرصدات الأرضية أو ، في حالة تلسكوب هابل الفضائي ، قياسات من مدار الأرض - أي من مسافة تزيد على أربعة مليارات كيلومتر.

بلوتو هو أيضا غريب من حيث حجمه: إنه إلى حد بعيد أصغر بين الكواكب ، أصغر بكثير من قمرنا. وبصرف النظر عن الأرض ، فهو لن يغطّي أوروبا أو الولايات المتحدة.

ما إذا كان بلوتو لديه جو تم التحقق منه لأول مرة في عام 1988. في ذلك الوقت كانت هناك فرصة نادرة لكوكب الأرض لتمرير أمام نجم. أثناء "التغطية" ، لم يغمق النجم فجأة ، لكنه ظل الظلام قبل ذلك مباشرة. من هذا يمكن أن نستنتج أن الكوكب محاط بجو رقيق. وهو يتألف من النيتروجين وأول أكسيد الكربون والميثان ، كما أظهرت الدراسات الطيفية لاحقًا. وفقًا للاعتبارات النظرية ، قد تحتوي أيضًا على بعض الجزيئات المنتجة ضوئيًا (حمض الهيدروسيانيك والنيتريل والإيثين والمواد الهيدروكربونية الأخرى) بالإضافة إلى الهيدروجين الذري.

كانت أعلى نقطة في أبحاث بلوتو حتى الآن في مارس 1996 ، عندما نشر علماء الفلك الأمريكيون خريطة للسطح. وهو يستند إلى الملاحظات التي أدلى بها تلسكوب هابل الفضائي مع كاميرا الأجسام الغامضة لوكالة الفضاء الأوروبية وكالة الفضاء الأوروبية. تم التقاط الصور في يونيو ويوليو 1994 ، عندما كان بلوتو 4.8 مليار كيلومتر فقط من الأرض ، خلال يوم بلوتو يدوم 153 ساعة أرضية. كل بكسل من الصورة يتوافق مع مساحة 160 كيلومتر مربع. بعد إجراءات معالجة الصور المطولة ، تم إنشاء خريطة بلوتو تظهر أكبر التناقضات الداكنة بين كل الكواكب في النظام الشمسي باستثناء الأرض. عرض

ربما يتعلق السؤال الأكثر إثارة بتكوين بلوتو والقمر الكبير غير العادي. تستبعد الخواص الفيزيائية ، بالإضافة إلى التركيب الداخلي والتركيب الكيميائي المختلفين لبلوتو وشارون ، أن ينفصل تشارون ذات مرة عن بلوتو ، أو أن كلا الجسمين نشأ معًا من سحابة الغاز والغبار في Urnebels البروتينية. الفرضية القائلة بأن بلوتو كان قمر نبتون سرب ، والذي ذكر في كثير من الأحيان في وقت سابق ، تم دحضها من قبل اكتشاف تشارون. أن بلوتو قد استولت ببساطة على قمره ، ومن غير المرجح أيضا لأسباب ميكانيكية سماوية.

الافتراض الأكثر منطقية هو أن بلوتو اصطدم ذات مرة بجسم عدة مئات ، وربما حتى ألف ، في الحجم. من تحت الأنقاض ، في مدار حول بلوتو ، كان يمكن أن يتشكل تشارون. ومع ذلك ، بعد اكتشاف القمر بفترة وجيزة ، أثير اعتراض مهم ضد فرضية التصادم هذه: إذا كان رواد بلوتو وشارون هما الكائنان الوحيدان في هذه المنطقة النائية من النظام الشمسي ، فإن مثل هذا التصادم سيكون غير مرجح للغاية.

=== روديجر فاس

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

Read out to the most eccentric of the planets. Pluto, with its enigmatic giant moon Charon, is the only planet space probes have yet explored up close. NASA engineers and scientists are currently working on a project to visit the sunniest satellite and elicit its secrets. A bitter cold, icy world - that's the only thing we know about Pluto so far. Otherwise, the outsider in the solar system is a fairly blank slate. No space probe has ever explored him close up. All the information we have about Pluto and its giant moon Charon, discovered in 1978, comes from terrestrial observations or, in the case of the Hubble Space Telescope, measurements from Earth orbit - that is, from a distance of well over four billion kilometers.

Pluto is also an outsider in terms of his size: he is by far the smallest among the planets, much smaller than our moon. Aside from the earth, he would not even cover Europe or the US.

Whether Pluto has an atmosphere was first ascertained in 1988. At that time there was a rare opportunity for the planet to pass just in front of a star. During the "covering", the star did not darken abruptly, but darkened immediately before. From this it could be concluded that the planet is surrounded by a thin atmosphere. It consists of nitrogen, carbon monoxide and methane, as spectral studies have shown later. According to theoretical considerations, it may also contain some photochemically produced molecules (hydrocyanic acid, nitriles, ethyne and other hydrocarbons) as well as atomic hydrogen.

The high point of Pluto research so far was in March 1996, when American astronomers published a map of the surface. It is based on observations made by the Hubble Space Telescope with the Faint Object Camera of the European Space Agency ESA. The images were taken in June and July 1994, when Pluto was only 4.8 billion kilometers from Earth, during a Pluto day lasting 153 earth hours. Each pixel of the photo corresponds to an area of ​​160 square kilometers. After lengthy image processing procedures, a Pluto map was created showing the largest light-dark contrasts of all planets in the solar system except Earth. display

Probably the most exciting question concerns the genesis of Pluto and its extraordinarily large moon. The physical properties, as well as the different internal structure and chemical composition of Pluto and Charon rule it out that Charon once split off from Pluto, or that both bodies arose together from the gas and dust cloud of the protosolaren Urnebels. The hypothesis that Pluto was a leaked Neptune's Moon, which was frequently mentioned earlier, has also been refuted by Charon's discovery. That Pluto has simply captured his moon, is also unlikely for heavenly mechanical reasons.

The most plausible assumption is that Pluto once collided with a body many hundreds, maybe even a thousand, kilometers in size. From the rubble, in an orbit around Pluto, Charon could have formed. However, soon after the discovery of the Moon, an important objection was raised against this collision hypothesis: If Pluto and Charon's forerunners were the only objects in this remote region of the solar system, such a collision would be extremely unlikely.

=== Rüdiger Vaas

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice