لذا يتخيل الباحثون "التنين الطائر". إعادة الإعمار: تشاو تشوانغ وشينغ ليدا
عند القراءة بصوت عالٍ قبل 125 مليون عام ، عاش الزواحف غير المعتادة في الصين: كان للحيوان الذي يبلغ طوله 15 سم ثمانية أضلاع ممدودة ، تم تمديد غشاء من الألياف المقواة عليه. يقول الباحثون حول Pi-peng Li إنه من المفترض أنه انزلق من الأشجار لالتقاط الحشرات بمساعدة جلد الرحلة هذا. معظم الطائرات الشراعية ذات الأرجل الأربعة الأخرى ، مثل السناجب الطائرة ، لها مجرى هواء بين مقدمة القدمين والساقين الخلفيتين. السحلية من الصين ، التي أعطت الباحثين اسم Xianglong zhaoi (الصينية لـ "التنين الطائر") ، ليست الزواحف الوحيدة التي تتحرك بمساعدة أضلاعها في الهواء: بالفعل قبل عدة ملايين من السنين قبل طيار صيني طور سحلية دعا Icarosaurus تقنية الطيران مماثلة. اليوم يتم استخدامه من قبل طائرة ورقية ، Agamenart ، موطنها جنوب شرق آسيا.

على الرغم من أن الأنواع الثلاثة كلها جزء من مجموعة الزواحف من Schuppenkriechtiere ، إلا أنها مرتبطة فقط عن بعد. فهي لا تأتي من نفس خط التطور ، حيث أعادت كل نوع اختراع الأضلاع. "مثال رائع للتطور المتقارب" ، يكتب الباحثون. اختلف شكل الذباب بشكل كبير بين الزواحف الثلاثة. على سبيل المثال ، كان لدى Xianglong أجنحة تشبه أحيانًا أجنحة المسافرين النشطين. كتب الباحثون أن القيم الهوائية كانت مواتية تمامًا.

الأحفوري الجديد يأتي من شاب ويتم الحفاظ عليه بشكل ممتاز: بالإضافة إلى الضلوع الممتدة بما في ذلك الجلد ، لا يزال الذيل البالغ طوله 9.5 سم ومخالب السحلية ظاهرة للعيان. لقد أظهروا أن شيانغ لونغ كان قادرًا على تسلق الأشجار. الأحفوري يأتي من التكوين Yxian الشهير ، حيث تم العثور على العديد من الديناصورات والثدييات الريش من العصور الوسطى.

Pi-peng Li (جامعة شنيانغ العادية ، الصين): PNAS ، إصدار ما قبل الإنترنت ، DOI: 10.1073 / pnas0609552104 إعلان Ute Kehse

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

So the researchers imagine the "flying dragon". Reconstruction: Zhao Chuang and Xing Lida
Reading aloud 125 million years ago, an unusual reptile lived in China: the 15-centimeter-long animal had eight elongated ribs, over which a fiber-reinforced membrane was stretched. Presumably, it slid down from trees to capture insects with the help of this flight skin, researchers say around Pi-peng Li. Most other four-legged gliders, such as flying squirrels, have an airway between their fore and hind legs. The lizard from China, who gave the researchers the name Xianglong zhaoi (Chinese for "flying dragon"), is not the only reptile that moves with the help of its ribs through the air: Already several million years before the Chinese aviator developed a lizard called Icarosaurus a similar flying technique. Today it is used by the flying kite, an Agamenart, native to Southeast Asia.

Although the three species are all part of the reptile group of the Schuppenkriechtiere, but are only remotely related. They do not come from the same line of development, each species reinvented the ribs fly. "An amazing example of convergent evolution, " the researchers write. The shape of the flies differed significantly among the three reptiles. For example, Xianglong had wings that are sometimes similar to those of active flyers. The aerodynamic values ​​were quite favorable, the researchers write.

The new fossil comes from a young and is excellently preserved: In addition to the extended ribs including the skin, the 9.5 centimeters long tail and the claws of the lizard are still clearly visible. They show that Xianglong was able to climb trees. The fossil comes from the famous Yxian Formation, where many feathered dinosaurs and mammals from the Middle Ages have been found.

Pi-peng Li (Shenyang Normal University, China): PNAS, online pre-release, DOI: 10.1073 / pnas0609552104 Ute Kehse advertisement

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice