اقرأ بصوت عالٍ على درب الفخاخ الجاذبية. الثقوب السوداء هي غدد لا تشبع في الفضاء. تظهر الملاحظات الجديدة المزيد والمزيد من تنوعها وأصلها. تؤثر المكانس الكهربائية الكونية على تطور المجرات ويمكن أن تهز المكان والزمان حرفيًا. لا شيء يمكن أن يهرب منهم ، ولا حتى الضوء. ومع ذلك ، فإن علماء الفلك والفيزيائيين لا ينقصهم الاكتشافات المنيرة. بعد أن كانت العوالم الكونية هي المجال بلا منازع للمنظرين لعدة عقود ، هناك الآن طوفان من الملاحظات. إنهم يهتمون بالظلام المظلمة الخفية وكذلك قاذفات الطاقة الغاشمة وحوش الكتلة العملاقة في وسط المجرات البعيدة.
الثقوب السوداء النجمية ثقيلة بما يصل إلى ثلاثة إلى بضع عشرات من الشمس ، ولكن طولها بضعة كيلومترات فقط. من المعروف منذ زمن طويل أنها أجساد النجوم الضخمة المحترقة التي تدعم نوى بعضها البعض. لا يزال الباحثون يحاربون العمليات الدقيقة. من غير الواضح ، على سبيل المثال ، ما إذا كان النجم يمكن أن ينهار مباشرة إلى ثقب أسود أو ما إذا كان ينفجر أولاً باعتباره مستعرًا أعظم. في الطرف الآخر من الطيف من العوارض الكونية هي الثقوب السوداء المجرة أو الفائقة الكتلة. يزنون ما بين مليون ومائة مليار شمس. ربما يكون لكل مجرة ​​قلب ثقيل مظلم. في غضون ذلك ، هناك دلائل متزايدة على أن هذه التركيزات المركزية للكتلة قد أثرت على تطور درب التبانة ، وربما بدأت في المقام الأول. بغض النظر عن كيفية ظهورها ، تؤثر "القلوب" المظلمة على تطور المجرات ، مثل الشكل ومعدل تكوين النجوم. لذا ، فإن الثقوب السوداء أقرب إلينا مما نعتقد: إذا لم تكن كذلك ، لكانت الظروف الكونية قد تطورت بشكل مختلف تمامًا ، ومن المحتمل أنه لن يكون هناك بشر على الإطلاق. إنه لأمر مدهش أن أي كائن أصغر من النظام الشمسي يمكن أن يؤثر على مجرة ​​ضخمة من مليارات النجوم.
الثقوب السوداء النجمية والمجرية ليست كل ما تقدمه الطبيعة في العملاق الكوني. في الآونة الأخيرة ، وجدت العديد من مجموعات البحث اليابانية والأمريكية بشكل مستقل مؤشرات على وجود ثقوب سوداء متوسطة الحجم - الأجرام السماوية أثقل من الشمس بمقدار 100 إلى 10000 مرة ، ولكنها أصغر من قمرنا. إنهم يخونون أنفسهم من خلال التغييرات الطفيفة في طيف الأشعة السينية للمجرات ، والتي تم تسجيلها باستخدام القمر الصناعي الألماني X-ray Rosat و ASCA اليابانية. تصادم الثقوب السوداء النجمية هو الطريقة الأكثر احتمالا لتشكيل ثقوب سوداء متوسطة. على الرغم من أن الاصطدام الأمامي في الفضاء من غير المرجح للغاية. لكن غالبية النجوم في الكون ليست بمفردها ، ولكنها تدور حول التركيز المشترك في التوأم أو الثلاثات. عندما يكون لديهم ما يكفي من الكتلة ، ينهارون في نهاية حياتهم إلى ثقوب سوداء تحمل رقصة كونية. لكن طاقة الجاذبية تضيع. يؤدي فقدان الطاقة هذا إلى تحريك دوامة التدمير: تقترب الثقوب السوداء وتصطدم أخيرًا. يقبع الفيزيائيون بالفعل في انتظار قياس هذه الصدمات الكونية. يقول إدوارد سايدل ، الأستاذ بمعهد ماكس بلانك لفيزياء الجاذبية في جولم بالقرب من بوتسدام: "تصادم الثقوب السوداء من بين أكثر المرشحين واعدة لاكتشاف موجات الجاذبية". مع زملائه بيرند بروغمان وفيرنر بنجر ، وكذلك مع باحثين أجانب ، قام بحساب لأول مرة بالضبط ما يحدث في مثل هذا التصادم.
تظهر الحسابات أن آفاق الحدث للثقوب السوداء تشوه شكل الفول السوداني قبل دمجها مثل قطرتين من الماء. تزداد قوة موجات الجاذبية بسرعة خلال بضعة ملايين من الثانية. ترددها يزداد بسرعة أيضا. ينبعث ثقبان أسودان لكل منهما 10 و 15 كتلة شمسية ، يسقطان على بعضهما البعض على مسافة حوالي 50 كيلومترًا في أقل من 0.2 ألف من الثانية ، حوالي واحد بالمائة من إجمالي كتلتهما في شكل موجات الجاذبية. يقول بيرند بروغمان: "هذه كمية هائلة من الطاقة ، أي أكبر بنحو ألف مرة من الإشعاع الذي أطلقته شمسنا على مدار خمسة مليارات عام من حياتها". أخيرًا ، كما هو الحال في جرس الكنيسة ، تتلاشى الاهتزازات تدريجياً ، في حين يأخذ أفق الحدث الخاص بالثقوب السوداء الموحدة شكلًا كرويًا مرة أخرى.
على الأرض ، بالطبع ، بالكاد يمكن الشعور بأي شيء من هذه الأكشاك الفائقة. لكن مع اكتشاف أجهزة جديدة لموجة الجاذبية ، والتي ستبدأ قياساتها في الأشهر المقبلة ، يريد الفيزيائيون إثبات الاهتزازات. لن يكون الأمر سهلاً - لكن هذا ليس متوقعًا من الأوزان الكونية الثقيلة.

=== روديجر فاس

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

Read aloud On the trail of gravitational traps. Black holes are insatiable glands in space. New observations show more and more of their diversity and origin. The cosmic vacuum cleaners affect the evolution of galaxies and can literally shake space and time. Nothing can escape them, not even the light. Nevertheless, astronomers and physicists are not short of enlightening discoveries. After the cosmic maelstroms have been the undisputed domain of theoreticians for several decades, there is now a flood of observations. They concern lonely, hidden dark ones as well as brute energy hurlers and gigantic mass monsters in the center of distant galaxies.
Stellar black holes are as heavy as three to a few dozen suns, but only a few kilometers tall. It has been known for a long time that they are the bodies of burned-out, massive stars whose cores support each other. The researchers still puzzle over the exact processes. It is unclear, for example, whether a star can collapse directly to a black hole or whether it explodes first as a supernova. At the other end of the spectrum of cosmic maelstroms are the galactic or supermassive black holes. They weigh as much as a million to a hundred billion suns. Maybe every galaxy has such a heavy, dark heart. In the meantime, there are increasing indications that these central concentrations of mass have influenced the development of the Milky Way, and perhaps even started it up in the first place. No matter how they came into existence, the dark "hearts" influence the evolution of galaxies, such as the shape and star formation rate. So, black holes are closer to us than we think: if they were not, the cosmic conditions would have developed quite differently, and then probably there would be no humans at all. It is amazing that an object smaller than the solar system can affect a huge galaxy of billions of stars.
Stellar and galactic black holes are not all that nature has to offer in cosmic colossi. Recently, several Japanese and American research groups independently found indications that there are also medium-sized black holes - celestial bodies 100 to 10, 000 times heavier than the Sun, but smaller than our Moon. They betray themselves by subtle changes in the X-ray spectrum of galaxies, which were recorded with the German X-ray satellite Rosat and the Japanese ASCA. The collision of stellar black holes is the most likely way to form medium black holes. Although a frontal collision in space is extremely unlikely. But the majority of the stars in the universe is not alone, but circles around a common focus in twos or threes. When they have enough mass, they collapse at the end of their lives to black holes that carry on the cosmic dance. But gravity energy is lost. This energy loss sets in motion a spiral of destruction: the black holes are getting closer and finally collide. Physicists are already lying in wait to measure these cosmic shocks. "Colliding black holes are among the most promising candidates for detecting gravitational waves, " says Edward Seidel, a professor at the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics in Golm near Potsdam. With his colleagues Bernd Brügmann and Werner Benger, as well as foreign researchers, he has calculated for the first time exactly what happens in such a collision.
The calculations show that the event horizons of the black holes distort peanut-shaped before merging like two drops of water. The strength of gravitational waves increases rapidly within a few millionths of a second. Their frequency is also increasing rapidly. Two black holes of 10 and 15 solar masses, falling into each other at a distance of about 50 kilometers in less than 0.2 thousandths of a second, emit about one percent of their total mass in the form of gravitational waves. "This is a gigantic amount of energy, which is about a thousand times larger than the radiation that our sun has released in the course of their five billion years of life, " says Bernd Brügmann. Finally, as in a church bell, the vibrations gradually fade away, while the event horizon of the united black holes again takes on a spherical shape.
On earth, of course, hardly anything can be felt from these cosmic supercrashes. But with new gravitational wave detectors, which will begin their measurements in the coming months, physicists want to prove the vibrations. It will not be easy - but that's not to be expected of cosmic heavyweights.

=== Rüdiger Vaas

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice