قراءة Volker Popp ليست جيدة جدًا في "ضفادع الطقس". "ليس لدينا مشكلة مع الطقس ، ولكن مع التنبؤات" ، يشكو مدير المنتجع في منتجع بحر البلطيق تيميندورفير. يقول بوب إن الكثير من التنبؤات الجوية السيئة أفسدت أصحاب الفنادق والمطاعم في المنتجع عن الميزانية العمومية. أحدث مثال: خلال موسم 1997 وفي عيد الفصح 1998 ، كانت التوقعات سلبية للغاية. وهكذا ، أعلن خبراء الأرصاد عن طقس ممطر لعطلة عيد الفصح في شمال ألمانيا. لهذا السبب ، بقي العديد من ضيوف العطلات المحتملين في منازلهم أو متجهين إلى الجنوب ، حسب بوب. فوق ساحل بحر البلطيق ، أشعة الشمس على الرغم من التوقعات البائسة. تقدر الخسائر المالية الناجمة عن غياب الضيوف في عيد الفصح عام 98 وحده على شاطئ تيميندورفير فولكر بوب ما بين ستة إلى سبعة ملايين علامة.

تريد خدمة الطقس الألمانية ألا تعرف شيئًا عن اتهامات سكان المناطق الساحلية. على الرغم من أن جزر بحر البلطيق Rügen و Usedom كانت لديها أشعة الشمس لساعات أطول من أي منطقة العطلات الألمانية الأخرى ، يؤكد المتحدث الصحفي Uwe Wesp أن المناخ في شمال شرق ألمانيا هو الخيار المفضل. لن يتم تلقي ذلك في الطقس التنبؤات على مثل هذه الميزات المحلية ، ولكن انطباع خاطئ. يقول ويسب: "في التوقعات الإقليمية لشمال ألمانيا ، هناك تمييز بين الطقس على الساحل والداخلية". ومع ذلك ، يعترف ، أنه بالكاد يمكن اعتباره في خريطة الطقس التلفزيونية المسائية لجميع أنحاء ألمانيا بسبب فترة البث القصيرة.

بالنسبة إلى كريستيان كونيغ ، ويثرمان في محطة أنتن بايرن الإذاعية في ميونيخ ورئيس شركة مور أند مور لخدمات الطقس ، فإن الانتقاد الذي يُزعم أنه أضر بمفاهيم خاطئة قد أساء إلى الأذهان. يقول كونيغ: "بالطبع ، لا يحب مربية نزل جبال الألب أن تستمع إلينا لتوقع انخفاض الثلوج إلى 1000 متر يوم الخميس في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع التالية ، لذلك لن يأتي المتنزهون الجبليون". "وإذا كان مثل هذا التوقع يخطئ في بعض الأحيان ، فإننا خبراء الأرصاد الجوية هم هدف الإزعاج".

يقول كينج إن التنبؤات المثالية لن تحدث أبدًا. نادراً ما يمكن التنبؤ بأحداث الطقس القاسية ، مثل الثلج والبرد والغيوم ، لموقع بالضبط. ويؤكد كونيغ ، لهذا السبب بالذات ، أن علماء الأرصاد الجوية ملزمون بأن يكونوا أكثر على جانب الإنذار. "هذه هي الطريقة الوحيدة لمنع المزيد من الناس من الموت في الجبال لأنهم فوجئوا بسقوط مفاجئ في الهواء."

أي شخص يريد أن يقاضي عن الخسائر المالية الناجمة عن توقعات خاطئة بالكاد لديه فرصة. بعد كل شيء ، من يستطيع أن يثبت أن ضيف عطلة محتمل اختار وجهة مختلفة بسبب توقعات الطقس السلبية؟ بسبب العلاقة غير الملموسة ، لم يزعج Munich Re ، أكبر معيد تأمين في العالم ، تقييم مدى الخسائر الاقتصادية الناجمة عن التنبؤات الجوية غير الصحيحة.

المثال الوحيد ، كما تقول شركة التأمين ، كان العاصفة القاسية التي اجتاحت ميونيخ في 12 يوليو عام 1984. قصفت أحجار البرد بحجم القبضة المنازل والسيارات والحقول لنحو نصف ساعة في ذلك المساء ، مما أدى إلى خسائر تأمينية بلغت حوالي 1.5 مليار مارك. لم يكن هناك تحذير في الوقت المناسب من هذا الطقس منذ قرن.

حتى لو اضطر خبراء الأرصاد الجوية في كثير من الأحيان إلى أن يكونوا كبش فداء - خلاصة القول هي أن عملهم مكسب: كل علامة يتم وضعها في خدمة الطقس الألمانية ، يستفيد الاقتصاد من أربعة أضعاف ، يحسب جيرهارد لوكس من DWD. بفضل التوقعات الخاصة ، يمكن للمرافق أن تخطط بشكل أفضل لاحتياجاتها من الكهرباء ، وستكون حدائق البيرة أكثر قدرة على تخطيط موظفيها - بأسعار تقل عن 100 علامة في الشهر.

الخلاصة: التنبؤ بالطقس صعب بدرجة كافية لجعله عادلاً. في المستقبل ، ينبغي أن يساعد خبراء الأرصاد أيضًا في إنقاذ الأرواح وتجنب الأضرار الناجمة عن عملهم ، ويجب ألا يتأثروا بالمصالح الاقتصادية لعملائهم.

=== رالف جزار

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

Reading Volker Popp is not very good at the "weather frogs". "We have no problem with the weather, but with the predictions, " complains the spa director of the Baltic resort Timmendorfer beach. Much too bad weather forecasts spoiled the hoteliers and restaurateurs in the resort the balance sheets, says Popp. The most recent example: during the 1997 season and at Easter 1998, the forecasts were far too negative. Thus, the meteorologists had announced rainy weather for the Easter holidays in northern Germany. For this reason, many potential holiday guests stayed home or headed south, Popp suspects. Above the Baltic coast, however, the sun shone in spite of the miserable predictions. The financial losses due to the absence of guests at Easter '98 alone on Timmendorfer beach estimates Volker Popp to six to seven million marks.

The German Weather Service wants to know nothing of the accusations of the coastal residents. Although the Baltic Sea islands of Rügen and Usedom had much longer hours of sunshine than any other German holiday region, press spokesman Uwe Wesp confirms that climate in Northeast Germany is the preferred option. That in the weather forecasts on such local features will not be received, but a false impression. "In the regional forecasts for northern Germany, a distinction is made between the weather on the coast and inland, " says Wesp. However, he admits, it can hardly be considered in the evening TV weather map for all of Germany because of the short airtime.

For Christian König, weatherman at the Munich radio station Antenne Bayern and head of the weather service company More and More Communications, the criticism of allegedly damaging mispredictions is excessive. "Of course, an alpine innkeeper does not like listening to us predicting snow down to 1000 meters on Thursday for the following weekend, so mountain hikers will not come, " says König. "And if such a prediction occasionally misses, then we meteorologists are the target of annoyance."

Perfect predictions will never happen, says King. Especially extreme weather events such as snow, hail or cloudbursts could rarely be predicted exactly for a location. For this very reason, emphasizes König, the meteorologists are obliged to be more on the warning side. "This is the only way to prevent even more people from perishing in the mountains because they are surprised by a sudden fall in the air." Ad

Anyone who wants to sue for financial losses caused by mispredictions hardly has a chance. After all, who can prove that a potential holiday guest chose a different destination because of a negative weather forecast? Because of the intangible connection, Munich Re, the world's largest reinsurer, has never bothered to assess the extent of economic losses caused by incorrect weather forecasts.

The only example, says the insurance company, was the severe hailstorm that swept across Munich on July 12, 1984. Fist-sized hailstones pelted homes, cars, and fields for nearly half an hour that evening, resulting in insurance losses of around 1.5 billion marks. There had been no timely warning of this century-old weather.

Even if the meteorologists often have to serve as scapegoats - the bottom line is their work a gain: every mark that is put into the German Weather Service, the economy benefits fourfold, calculates Gerhard Lux ​​of the DWD. Thanks to special forecasts, utilities could better plan their electricity needs, and beer gardens would be better able to plan their staff - at prices of less than 100 marks per month.

Conclusion: predicting the weather is difficult enough to make it all fair. In the future meteorologists should also help save lives and avoid damage by their work and should not be influenced by the economic interests of their customers.

=== Ralf Butscher

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice