قراءة ما يقرب من ثلاثة عشر كوكب يشبه كوكب المشتري اكتشافها. عمالقة الغاز المتضخمة تقترب بشكل خطير من النجوم ولها خصائص غريبة. اكتشاف عوالم صديقة للحياة ليست سوى مسألة وقت. قبل أن يتحدث ديفيد لاثام عن عوالم أخرى ، يذهب للتسوق أولاً. وليس قريبا جدا. قال عالم الفلك في مركز هارفارد سميثسونيان للفيزياء الفلكية في كامبريدج ، ماساتشوستس ، "لقد أنفقت 28 دولارًا و 83 سنتًا في وقت مبكر" ، وبدأ محاضرة في مؤتمر علمي في واشنطن العاصمة ، وأزال حقيبة البقالة أمام الجمهور.

"هذه هي الشمس" ، كما يقول ويفجر بالون عملاق أحمر ساطع ، يبلغ قطره 1.4 متر ، أصغر بمليار مرة. على هذا النطاق ، فإن أرضنا لا تعطي انطباعًا كبيرًا: "لاثام يحمل حبة البازلاء:" 1.2 سم ، لقد قمت بقياسها. من ناحية أخرى ، فإن قمرنا وكوكبنا عطارد هما ثلاثة ملليمترات من الفلفل. "يضع الفلكي اثنين منهم على جهاز الإسقاط العلوي. "كوكب المشتري وزحل والبرتقال أو التفاح."

لكن لاثام لم يأتِ للعب مع الفاكهة ، لكن للحديث عن أسئلة كان الخيال البشري يتعامل معها منذ آلاف السنين: هل هناك كواكب في نجوم أخرى أيضًا؟ هل يمكن أن تؤوي الحياة؟ هل هناك أرض ثانية في مكان ما في شدة الفضاء؟

"الأخبار السارة هي أن هناك الآن أدلة دامغة على وجود كواكب في نجوم أخرى" ، يوضح لاثام ، وهو يعرض مخططًا على اللوحة مع ما يقرب من ثلاثة عشر اكتشافات. "الأخبار السيئة: أي من العالمين يشبه أرضنا. لا يوجد لديه سطح صلب وماء ضروري للحياة كما نعرفها "

تم اكتشاف جميع الكواكب المعروفة خارج المجموعة الشمسية تقريبًا من خلال الآثار الدقيقة التي يتركونها في طيف نجمهم. بهذه الطريقة نجح ميشيل مايور وديدييه كيلوز من مرصد جنيف في عام 1995 لأول مرة في اكتشاف كوكب آخر في نجمة تشبه الشمس - في 50 سنة ضوئية 51 Pegasi (bild der wissenschaft 5/1996 ، "المغادرة إلى كوكب أجنبي").

علماء الفلك الآن في انتظام دائما الاكتشافات الجديدة المعروفة. يقول لاثام: "حتى الآن ، لم نتعقب سوى بضعة في المئة من النجوم المرصودة". "لكن تأثير الاختيار كبير: لا تسمح أساليبنا في الوقت الحالي سوى باكتشاف جثث ثقيلة على مقربة من نجمها ، بينما يفر آخرون بشكل منهجي".

الغريبة تمامًا هي الكواكب المكتشفة حديثًا: معظم الأجرام السماوية تزن أكثر من كوكب المشتري وتكون شديدة الحرارة: درجات الحرارة التي تزيد عن 1000 درجة مئوية هي القاعدة. لقد أنشأ علماء الفلك بالفعل محطة تقنية لهذه العوالم الجهنمية: كوكب المشتري الساخن. سيستغرق اكتشاف كوكب شبيه بالأرض بعض الوقت.

لكن البحث عن أرض ثانية قد بدأ للتو. سوف تمر عدة سنوات قبل تطوير الإمكانيات التقنية. من خلال التلسكوبات الفضائية التالية والقادمة ، إلا أن صيادي الكوكب يريدون اكتشاف وتصوير أجرام سماوية بحجم الأرض في نجوم أخرى. يقول ستيفن لوبو من معهد علوم تلسكوب الفضاء في بالتيمور: "إن اكتشافات السنوات الأخيرة فتحت نافذة جديدة للكون". من المهم الآن البحث عن ما هو موجود هناك. يقول ألان ب. بوس من معهد كارنيجي في واشنطن: "ربما يكون لدينا العديد من المفاجآت التي ستجبرنا على إعادة التفكير".

=== روديجر فاس

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

Read out Almost three dozen Jupiter-like planets discovered. The bloated gas giants come dangerously close to their stars and have exotic properties. The discovery of life-friendly worlds is only a matter of time. Before David Latham talks about other worlds, he goes shopping first. And plenty of it. "I spent 28 dollars and 83 cents earlier, " the astronomer at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics in Cambridge, Massachusetts, begins a lecture at a science congress in Washington, DC, and removes his grocery bag in front of the audience.

"That's the sun, " he says and blows up a bright red giant balloon, "1.4 meters in diameter, one billion times smaller. On this scale, our earth does not make a big impression. "Latham holds up a pea:" 1.2 centimeters, I've measured it. Our moon and the planet Mercury, on the other hand, are three millimeters of peppercorns. "The astronomer places two of them on the overhead projector. "Jupiter and Saturn are oranges or apples."

But Latham did not come to play with fruit, but to talk about questions that human fantasy has been dealing with for millennia: are there planets in other stars as well? Could they harbor life? Is there a second earth somewhere in the immensity of space?

"The good news is that there is now compelling evidence for the existence of planets in other stars, " Latham explains, projecting a chart onto the canvas with nearly three dozen discoveries. "The bad news: none of the worlds resembles our earth. None has a solid surface and water necessary for life as we know it. "Ad

Almost all known extrasolar planets have been discovered by the subtle traces they leave in the spectrum of their star. With this method succeeded Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz of the Observatory of Geneva in 1995 for the first time the detection of another planet in a sun-like star - at 50 light years away 51 Pegasi (bild der wissenschaft 5/1996, "Departure to foreign planet").

The astronomers are now in regularity always new discoveries known. "So far, we have only tracked down a few percent of the observed stars, " says Latham. "But the selection effect is huge: Our methods currently only allow the detection of very heavy bodies in close proximity to their home star, while others are systematically escaping."

Exactly exotic are the newly discovered planets: Most of the celestial bodies weigh more than Jupiter and are very hot: temperatures above 1000 degrees Celsius are the rule. Astronomers have already established a terminus technicus for these hellish worlds: Hot Jupiter. The discovery of an Earth-like planet will take a while to come.

But the search for a second earth has just begun. It will be several years before the technical possibilities have been developed. With the next and next but one generation of space telescopes, the planet hunters want to detect and even photograph earth-sized celestial bodies at other stars. "The discoveries of recent years have opened a new window to the universe, " says Stephen Lubow of the Space Telescope Science Institute in Baltimore. Now it's important to look out for what's out there. "We will probably have many surprises that will force us to rethink, " says Alan P. Boss of the Carnegie Institution in Washington.

=== Rüdiger Vaas

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice