في التجربة ، يجب أن تكون الكوكاتو قادرة فقط على جلب الطعام من صناديق متعددة المستويات من الأرض أو مرتفعة بعصا واحدة من العلف القابل للوصول. (الصورة: بيني كروي)
اقرأ دومًا ما زالت هناك حاجة دائمًا إلى الزردية والمفكات والأدوات المختلطة - يعرف كل حرفي: لذلك يجب على المرء أن يبقي أدواته في متناول اليد قدر الإمكان وأن تبقيها بأسلوب استشرافي. من الواضح أن كوكين جوفين يعرف أنه ، أيضًا ، يُظهر تجارب مع الطيور شديدة الذكاء. حتى أثناء تناول الطعام ، يمكنهم الاحتفاظ بعصا أدوات أمامهم حتى يتم الانتهاء من جميع المهام.

يوجد عقل حاد في رؤوس هذه الطيور الصغيرة: تثبت العديد من الدراسات بالفعل الأداء المعرفي المذهل في استخدام أداة كوكاتو جوفن. لا يمكنك استخدامها بذكاء فحسب ، بل يمكنك أيضًا أن تصنعها بنفسك. فقط عدد قليل من الأنواع مثل بعض القرود أو الغربان كاليدونيا الجديدة هي أيضا قادرة على القيام بذلك. تشرح أليس أورسبيرج من معهد ميسيرلي للأبحاث التابع لجامعة الطب البيطري في فيينا: "يستخدم كوكو غوفن العصي أو غيرها من الوسائل للحصول على مكافآت لا يمكن تحقيقها بأي حال من الأحوال". عندما تخدم الأداة غرضها ، عادة ما تسقطها الطيور. يقول العالم السلوكي: "لقد أردنا الآن معرفة ما إذا كانت الطيور المتعلمة تدرك أيضًا أن الأداة يمكن أو يجب إعادة استخدامها".

الأكل دون التخلي عن أداة ثبت

وللتحقيق في هذا السؤال ، قدم الباحثون حيواناتهم التجريبية بمهمة خاصة: لقد واجهوها بصفوف من الصناديق ، تحتوي كل منها على جوزة لذيذة ، لا يمكن للطيور استخدامها إلا كأداة لدفعها إلى الوصول إليها. وكان عدد من هذه الصناديق بالقرب من الأرض ، وزاد الآخر. يجب أن تظهر الطيور الآن ما إذا كانوا يدركون أنهم سيحتاجون إلى أدواتهم للحصول على مكافأة إضافية.

أصبح من الواضح أن الطيور أدركت بسرعة أن الأداة كانت ثمينة وعاملتها حتى بشكل مختلف حسب الموقف. مع وجود الصناديق القريبة من الأرض ، لم يكن الخطر كبيرًا حتى يفقد العصا ، لذا فقد قامت الطيور ببساطة بتخزينها في أحد مخالبها ، حيث تنقر على المكافأة مع منقارها وصراخها. من المفترض ، لضمان زيادة السلامة ، كانت الببغاوات هي العصا في الصناديق عالية السقف ، ومع ذلك ، غالباً ما كانت عالقة في آخر صندوق مستخدم واحتفظت بها بالإضافة إلى ذلك مع القدم ، حسبما ذكر الباحثون.

وقال أويرسبيرج: "كانت الببغاوات الذكية واضحة قريبًا في أنه يتعين عليهم التعامل مع الأداة بحكمة ، خاصة في الصناديق العليا". "عندما أسقطت الكوكتيلات العصا ، كان يتعين عليها إعادتها من الأرض حتى تتمكن من الوصول إلى الجوز التالي. مع زيادة هذا الجهد وتحت ظروف أقل رقابة ، يمكن أن تختفي المكافأة "، يوضح العالم السلوكي. عرض

الاستراتيجيات الفردية

وفقًا للباحثين ، كان من اللافت للنظر أن الحيوانات الفردية استخدمت استراتيجيات مختلفة ، وكلها خدمت نفس الغرض: تأمين الأداة. في حين أن البعض منهم ظل دائمًا يحتفظ بالعصا في مخالبهم ، فقد ضغطها الآخرون على علب الطعام بأجسادهم ووضعها الآخر لفترة قصيرة في كل مرة.

لتشغيل الصناديق ، كان على الحيوانات أيضًا ضبط أنماط حركتها. لذلك ، اختبرت الطيور أفضل ما في وسعها بعصيها إلى صندوق التغذية التالي وفي نفس الوقت يمكن أن تتغذى وتتحمله. ولاحظ الباحثون أنه بمجرد تحسين الطيور لحركتها ، أبقوها في صندوق الطعام الأخير.

"حقيقة أن الكوكاتو يمكنها التعامل مع المواقف الصعبة ، لقد أثبتت لنا بالفعل في دراسات سابقة. لكن في هذه التجربة ، أظهروا أنه حتى احتمال الغذاء لا يمكن أن يصرف انتباههم عن العناية بأدواتهم والاستمرار في استخدامها ، "يلخص Auersperg.

مصدر:

  • الاتصالات من جامعة الطب البيطري فيينا
© science.de - مارتن فييج
موصى به اختيار المحرر

In the experiment, the cockatoos should only be able to fetch food from a plurality of ground-level or elevated boxes with one stick of reachable feed. (Photo: Bene Croy)
Read out Pliers, screwdrivers and coo are always needed at work - every craftsman knows: One should therefore keep his tools as close to hand as possible and keep them in a forward-looking manner. Goffin cockatoos evidently know that, too, showing experiments with the highly intelligent birds. Even while they are eating, they can keep a tool-stick in front of them until all the tasks are done.

A sharp mind sits in these little bird's heads: Many studies already prove the amazing cognitive performance in tool use of the Goffin cockatoos. Not only can you use them cleverly, you can also make them yourself. Only a few species such as some primates or the New Caledonian crows are also able to do so. "Goffin cockatoos use sticks or other aids to obtain rewards that are otherwise unattainable for them, " explains Alice Auersperg from the Messerli Research Institute of the University of Veterinary Medicine, Vienna. When a tool has served its purpose, the birds usually drop it. "We now wanted to find out if the learning birds also understand that a tool can or must be reused, " says the behavioral scientist.

Eating without giving up the proven tool

To investigate this question, the researchers presented their experimental animals with a special task: they confronted them with rows of boxes, each containing a delicious nut, which the birds could only use as a tool to push them into their reach. A number of these boxes were near the ground, the other increased. The birds should now show if they realize that they will need their tools for further reward.

It became apparent that the birds quickly realized that the tool was precious and treated it even differently according to the situation. With the boxes near the ground, the danger was not so great as to lose the stick, so the birds just simply stored it in one of their claws, pecking at the reward with their beak and pouting. Presumably, to ensure increased safety, the parrots were the stick in the high-lying boxes, however, often in the last used box stuck and also held it with his foot, the researchers report.

"The clever parrots were soon clear that they have to treat the tool prudently, especially in the higher boxes, " said Auersperg. "When the cockatoos dropped the stick, they had to get it back from the ground so they could get to the next nut. With that the effort was increased and under less controlled conditions the reward could be gone, "explains the behavioral scientist. display

Individual strategies

According to the researchers, it was also striking that the individual animals used different strategies, all of which served the same purpose: securing the tool. While some of them almost always kept the stick in their claws, others pressed it against the food boxes with their bodies and another one put it down for a short time each time.

To operate the boxes, the animals also had to adjust their movement patterns. Therefore, the birds tested how best they could with their sticks to the next feed box and at the same time could feed and hold. Once the birds had optimized their movement, they kept it to the last food box, the researchers observed.

"The fact that the cockatoos can deal with tricky situations, they have already proven to us in previous studies. But in this experiment, they showed that even the prospect of food can not distract them from taking care of their tools and continuing to use them, "Auersperg sums up.

Source:

  • Communication from the University of Veterinary Medicine Vienna
© science.de - Martin Vieweg
Recommended Editor'S Choice