اقرأ القنابل النيوترونية والمرايا الشمسية لحماية كوكبنا. القصف من الفضاء يهدد الحياة. ولكن يمكننا حماية أنفسنا. لقد حسب العلماء بالفعل حالة الطوارئ. ماذا يمكن أن نفعل إذا كان طراد مدار مدار يومًا ما على مسار تصادمي مع الأرض؟ التحديدات المدارية الدقيقة والتنبؤات يمكن أن تسلب نيزكًا صغيرًا للكثير من رعبها. لأنه كما هو الحال مع تحذيرات الأعاصير والأمواج المدية ، سيكون من الممكن الإخلاء في الوقت المناسب.

ومع ذلك ، لا يمكن لأحد الهروب من طراد المدار أكبر. على الأكثر ، يمكن لبعض الناس أن يطيروا إلى الفضاء بصاروخ ، كما أظهر فيلم الخيال العلمي "عندما تصطدم العالمين" في عام 1951. تتمثل الطريقة الأفضل في استباق الكارثة بضربة وقائية - إذا أدركت الخطر مبكرًا بدرجة كافية. "الحرب على النجوم" يمكن أن تنقذنا. يقول ديريك بيتس من معهد فرانكلين في فيلادلفيا: "هناك أربعة خيارات". "يمكننا إبطاء الجسم السماوي أو تسريعه أو إخراجه عن المسار الصحيح أو تفجيره".

يتفق الخبراء على أن: تغيير السكك الحديدية الذي يهدد الأجسام القريبة من الأرض هو الدفاع الأكثر فعالية وسهلة التنفيذ نسبيًا. ومع ذلك ، فإن "حرب النجوم" هذه تتطلب أسلحة نووية لأكثر من كيلومتر واحد من الأشياء - وهو شيء ذو حدين: "يمكننا أن نجلب المزيد من الخطر إلى الفضاء أكثر مما يوجد بالفعل" ، يخشى توم غيرلرز من جامعة أريزونا. كما يحذر زميله جاي ميلوش ، الذي يعمل في الجامعة نفسها ، من أن "تهديد قنابل جيجاترون في المدار أو على الأرض يبدو لي أكبر بكثير من تهديد الكواكب".

ولكن ليس من الضروري أيضًا تطوير بطاريات دفاع منسقة بالفعل. نظرًا لأن احتمال اكتشاف طراد أرضي فورًا في مسار تصادم ، هو أقل بكثير من ذلك ، في المستقبل القريب ، هناك احتمال واحد. عرض

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، هناك استراتيجيات دفاعية لا تستند إلى رؤوس حربية نووية وبالتالي فهي أقل خطورة ، ولكن يصعب تنفيذها حاليًا. يمكن أن تتمثل إحدى الإستراتيجيات في إرفاق أدوات الدفع إلى الأجسام القريبة من الأرض وإخراجها من المحاذاة مع محرك خارجي. يمكن أن يكون مصدر الطاقة محركات كيميائية أو كهربائية أو نووية أو شمسية. تكمن الصعوبة الرئيسية في تثبيت الدوافع بقوة كافية للأجسام القريبة من الأرض.

فكرة أخرى جاءت من جاي ميلوش وإيفان نيمشينوف من معهد ديناميكا الأرض في موسكو. إن المرآة الكبيرة وخفيفة الوزن ، التي يتم إحضارها إلى الفضاء بواسطة مكوك فضائي أو صاروخ وتكشف هناك ، تهدف إلى صرف انتباه الأجسام القريبة من الأرض. هذه المرآة يجب أن تطير إلى المذنب أو الكوكب قبل بضع سنوات من التأثير الوشيك. لهذا يمكن أن تكون مجهزة الدفاعات الصغيرة. سيكون أكثر فعالية لاستخدامه كظلة شمسية والسماح لضغط الإشعاع الشمسي لقيادتها إلى وجهتها مثل سفينة إبحار. رحلة الإبحار هذه ممكنة بسهولة.

بالقرب من الأجسام القريبة من الأرض ، يجب أن تكون المحاذاة التي يبلغ طولها حوالي 500 متر محاذاة بحيث تجمع أشعة الشمس وتوجهها إلى "القنبلة". يجب تسخين سطحها إلى حوالي 2000 درجة. سيكون لهذا التبخر الانتقائي نفس تأثير نظام الدفع الصاروخي: كتل الغبار والغاز ستخرج تدريجياً الجسم الخطير من مسار التصادم.

=== روديجر فاس

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

Read out neutron bombs and sun mirrors to protect our planet. The bombardment from space is life-threatening. But we can protect ourselves. Scientists have already calculated the emergency. What can we do if one day an Earth orbit cruiser is on a collision course with Earth? Accurate orbital determinations and predictions could rob a small meteorite of much of its horror. Because as with hurricane and tidal wave warnings, a timely evacuation would be possible.

However, no one can escape from a larger orbit cruiser. At most, some people could fly into space with a rocket, as the science fiction film "When Worlds Collide" in 1951 has shown. A better way would be to preempt the disaster with a preemptive strike - if you recognize the danger early enough. A "war on the stars" could save us. "There are four options, " says Derrick Pitts of the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia. "We could slow down the celestial body, accelerate it, get it off course or blow it up."

The experts agree: A rail change threatening NEOs is the most effective defense and technically relatively easy to implement. But this "Star War" requires nuclear weapons for over a kilometer objects - a double-edged thing: "We could bring more danger into space than there already lurk, " fears Tom Gehrels of the University of Arizona. His colleague Jay Melosh, working at the same university, also warns: "The threat of gigatron bombs in orbit or on Earth appears to me much greater than the threat of planetoids."

But it is also not necessary to develop concerted defense batteries already. Because the probability of discovering a terrestrial cruiser immediately on a collision course, is much lower than that, in the near future, there is even one. display

In addition, there are defense strategies that are not based on nuclear warheads and therefore far less dangerous, but currently also difficult to implement. One strategy could be to attach thrusters to the NEO and steer it out of alignment with such an outboard motor. The energy source can be chemical, electrical, nuclear or solar drives. The main difficulty is anchoring the thrusters firmly enough to the NEO.

Another idea came from Jay Melosh and Ivan Nemchinov from the Institute of Geosphere Dynamics in Moscow. A large, lightweight mirror, which is brought into space with a space shuttle or a rocket and unfolded there, is intended to distract the NEO. This mirror would have to fly to the comet or planetoid some years before the impending impact. For this he could be equipped with small thrusters. It would be even more efficient to use it as a sunshade and allow the sun's radiation pressure to drive it to its destination like a sailing ship. Such a sailing trip is readily feasible.

Near the NEO, the approximately 500-meter mirror would have to be aligned so that it bundles the sunlight and directs it to the "bomb". Their surface should be heated to around 2000 degrees. This selective evaporation would have the same effect as a rocket propulsion system: the dust and gas masses would gradually bring the dangerous object out of the collision course.

=== Rüdiger Vaas

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice