اقرأ بايونير 10 - قمر صناعي ثورة في علوم الكواكب. سبر مسبار الفضاء الطريق أمام الفلكيين إلى الكواكب الخارجية. في هذه الأثناء ، يبعد المخضرم في رحلات الفضاء أكثر من عشرة مليارات كيلومتر عنا - ولا يزال يبث. 3 ديسمبر 1973: غرفة التحكم المشددة التابعة لناسا في ماونتن فيو ، كاليفورنيا ، تعاني من توتر شديد. حوالي 50 عالمًا ومهندسًا ينظرون بثبات إلى صفوف الأرقام التي لا نهاية لها على الشاشات. يأتون من Pioneer 10 ، أول مسبار من صنع الإنسان غامر بعيدًا في النظام الشمسي الخارجي ويواجه الآن اختباره الأكثر شدة: هل سيتحمل القصف الإشعاعي المركَّز لعملاق الكواكب كوكب المشتري؟ أكثر اللحظات إثارة في المهمة بأكملها وشيكة.

جرعة الإشعاع بالقرب من كوكب المشتري تتجاوز كل التوقعات. يتم اكتشاف الجزيئات المشحونة كهربائيًا من الرياح الشمسية في الحقل المغناطيسي القوي للكوكب وتسارع إلى السرعات العالية. يمكن أن تعني نهاية Pioneer 10. يتجاوز الإشعاع القيم الأرضية بألف ضعف. تبلغ سرعتها القصوى 36 كيلومترًا في الثانية ، ويطلق المسبار ارتفاعًا يصل إلى 131000 كيلومتر فوق الغيوم الخارجية لثلج الأمونيا. ثم يختفي بايونير 10 خلف الكوكب.

تمت مقاطعة اتصال الراديو لمدة 40 دقيقة. الآن حتى العقول الباردة تصبح مضطربة: هل ستعود الإشارات إلى الظهور ، أم أن حزام الإشعاع دمر الأجهزة الإلكترونية لأجهزة القياس؟ كل شيء كان على ما يرام. كل شيء تقريبا. على الرغم من أن بايونير 10 أبلغت عن الموعد المحدد ، فقد بدا أن بعض الآلات تتلقى إشارات شبحية ولعبت مجنونا.

وكان حقل الإشعاع مزيفة لهم رسائل كاذبة. "كان علينا إخبار بايونير بكل شيء ، وتشغيل كل أداة وإيقافها ، وتحديد ترتيب القياسات ، وتنظيم الحساسية ، وما إلى ذلك. في بعض الأيام أرسلنا المسبار من 2000 إلى 3000 أمر وراءه. "ريتشارد فيميل ، المسؤول عن بعض الأدوات العلمية على متن الطائرة وكان مسؤولاً عن المهمة منذ البداية ، لا يزال مندهشًا من هذا الإنجاز الفني الرائد عندما صمم من شركة TRW للفضاء والتكنولوجيا في كاليفورنيا بنيت التحقيق مع خلفائهم أكثر حداثة يقارن Voyager و Galileo. عرض

الجهد لبايونير 10 كان يستحق كل هذا العناء. وصلت إلى الأرض العديد من الملاحظات ، بما في ذلك أكثر من 300 صورة بدقة تصل إلى 500 كيلومتر. ولأول مرة ، يمكن مراقبة الغلاف الجوي المضطرب لعملاق الغاز عن قرب وقياس مجاله المغناطيسي الهائل. الأهم من ذلك ، مهد Pioneer 10 الطريق أمام جميع الاستكشافات الأحدث والأكثر دقة للنظام الشمسي الخارجي. بدون هذا الجهد الرائد ، لم تكن مهمة المركبتين الفضائيتين Voyager التي أطلقت في أواخر صيف 1977 ممكنة. شركة ".

في غضون ذلك ، استنفدت موارد الطاقة في Pioneer 10 لدرجة أنه لا يمكن تشغيل سوى أداة علمية واحدة: بالتناوب عداد جيجر للكشف عن الأشعة الكونية وطيف الأشعة فوق البنفسجية ، الذي يقيس الإشعاع الذي ينعكس الهيدروجين بين النجوم. في نهاية هذا أو بداية العام المقبل ، سيكون المسبار صامتًا تمامًا.

قامت ناسا بإنهاء المهمة رسمياً في 1 أبريل 1997. كانت تكاليف التشغيل السنوية البالغة 500000 دولار غير متناسبة مع الناتج العلمي. كانت اليوبيل الفضي للاحتفال بالذكرى 25 لبايونير 10 ، الذي تم الاحتفال به في 2 مارس من هذا العام في مقر ناسا ، أيضًا حفلة وداع. تفيد البيانات الأكاديميين الشباب أيضًا. "ابتسم برنامج Pioneer حوالي 50 طالبًا لدرجة الدكتوراه" ، ابتسم Charlie Hall ، أول مدير مشروع في Pioneer 10 ، في الحفل. ناسا لم تتخل تماما عن التحقيق. تقترب وحدات التحكم في الطيران من إطلاق النار عليهم لفترة من الوقت وتسمع بشكل متقطع همساتهم الأخيرة.

على النقيض من ذلك ، ظل Pioneer 11 صامتًا منذ نوفمبر 1995 ، عندما كان على بعد 6.6 مليار كيلومتر من الشمس. لم يعد بالإمكان محاذاة هوائي الراديو مع الأرض: لقد جفت طاقة البطاريات. في أقل من أربعة ملايين عام ، سوف تطير Pioneer 11 عبر النجم Lambda في كوكبة Adler وستستمر في المضي قدمًا نحو مركز درب التبانة.

يبعد Pioneer 10 الآن أكثر من 10 مليارات كيلومتر (67 AU) عنا - أي ضعف مساحة بلوتو. كل ساعة ، المسافة تزيد بمقدار 45000 كيلومتر. لم يحدث من قبل وقد اخترقت سفينة الفضاء الأرضية أعمق في الفضاء. ومع ذلك ، في فبراير 1998 ، سيتعين على المسبار أن يتخلى عن هذا السجل لـ Voyager 1 ، الذي يطلق النار بشكل أسرع في الاتجاه المعاكس.

ستظل شركة Pioneer 10 في طريقها لمدة لا تقل عن 10000 عام قبل أن تمر على المهد المزعوم للمذنبات الطويلة الأجل: سحابة Oort comواق ، التي تحيط بالنظام الشمسي مثل قشرة كروية. وفي 33000 عام ، ستطير فوق النجم القزم روس 248 - على مسافة فخمة تبلغ 3.3 سنة ضوئية ، دائمًا في اتجاه برج كوكب الثور. يقول لاري لاشر ، إنها ستمر عددًا من النجوم تقريبًا كل مليون عام ، "سفينة أشباح تنجرف بصمت عبر الغرفة المظلمة".

سيبقى المسبار متقاطعًا بين النجوم عندما لا يوجد أحد على الأرض يمكنه تذكرها. لكن حتى رحلة بايونير لا تدوم إلى الأبد. في مرحلة ما ، ولكن فقط بمليارات السنين ، فإن المادة البيننجية ، التي تدب مثل أرقى أوراق الصنفرة على سفينة الأشباح المعدنية ، ستدمر المسبار. سوف ينتشر غبارهم في الفضاء الذي لا حدود له بين النجوم.

=== روديجر فاس

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

Read out Pioneer 10 - a satellite is revolutionizing planetary science. The space probe had paved the way for the astronomers to the outer planets. Meanwhile, the spaceflight veteran is over ten billion kilometers away from us - and is still broadcasting. December 3, 1973: NASA's tight control room in Mountain View, California, has crackling tension. About 50 scientists and engineers gaze fixedly at the endless rows of numbers on the screens. They come from Pioneer 10, the first man-made probe that has ventured far into the outer solar system and is now facing its most severe test: will it withstand the concentrated radiation bombardment of planetary giant Jupiter? The most dramatic moments of the entire mission are imminent.

The radiation dose near Jupiter exceeds all expectations. Electrically charged particles from the solar wind are caught in the powerful magnetic field of the planet and accelerated to high speeds. They could mean the end of Pioneer 10. The radiation exceeds the earthly values ​​by a thousandfold. With a top speed of 36 kilometers per second, the probe shoots 131, 000 kilometers high above the outermost clouds of ammonia ice. Then Pioneer 10 disappears behind the planet.

The radio connection is interrupted for 40 minutes. Now even the cooler minds are getting restless: Would the signals reappear, or had the radiation belt destroyed the electronics of the measuring instruments? Everything was fine. Almost everything. Although Pioneer 10 reported back on schedule, some instruments seemed to receive ghostly signals and played crazy.

The radiation field had faked them false messages. "We had to tell Pioneer everything, switch every instrument on and off, set the order of measurements, regulate sensitivities, and so on. On some days we sent the probe 2, 000 to 3, 000 commands behind it. "Richard Fimmel, who was responsible for some of the scientific instruments on board and had been in charge of the mission from the start, is still amazed at this technical pioneering achievement when he designed the from the Californian company TRW Space and Technology built probe with their more modern successors Voyager and Galileo compares. display

The effort for Pioneer 10 was worth it. Numerous observations, including over 300 photos with a resolution of up to 500 kilometers, came to Earth. For the first time, the turbulent atmosphere of the gas giant could be observed up close and its enormous magnetic field measured. More importantly, Pioneer 10 has paved the way for all later and more accurate explorations of the outer solar system. Without this pioneering effort, the mission of the two Voyager spacecraft launched in late summer 1977 would not have been possible. Companies."

In the meantime, Pioneer 10's energy resources are so exhausted that only one scientific instrument can be operated: alternately the Geiger counter to detect the cosmic rays and the UV spectrometer, which measures the radiation reflected by the hydrogen between the stars. At the end of this or the beginning of the next year, the probe will be completely silent.

NASA officially terminated the mission on April 1, 1997. The $ 500, 000 annual operating costs were out of all proportion to the scientific output. The Silver Jubilee for the 25th anniversary of Pioneer 10, which was celebrated on March 2 of this year at the headquarters of NASA, was also a farewell party. The data also benefits young academics. "The Pioneer program got about 50 students to the doctoral degree, " smiled Charlie Hall, Pioneer 10's first project manager, at the ceremony. NASA has not completely abandoned its probe. Approaching flight controllers will fire them for a while and sporadically overhear their last whispers.

By contrast, Pioneer 11 has been silent since November 1995, when it was 6.6 billion kilometers from the Sun. The radio antenna could no longer be aligned with the earth: the power from the batteries had dried up. In just under four million years, Pioneer 11 will fly past the star Lambda in the constellation of Adler and will continue to drive further and further towards the center of the Milky Way.

Pioneer 10 is now over 10 billion kilometers (67 AU) away from us - almost twice as far as Pluto. Every hour, their distance increases by another 45, 000 kilometers. Never before has an earthly spaceship penetrated deeper into space. In February 1998, however, the probe will have to relinquish that record to Voyager 1, who shoots faster in the opposite direction.

Pioneer 10 will be on its way for at least 10, 000 years before it passes the alleged cradle of long-period comets: the Oort cometary cloud, which surrounds the solar system like a spherical shell. And in 33000 years she will fly past the dwarf star Ross 248 - at the stately distance of 3.3 light years, always in the direction of the constellation Taurus. About every million years, she'll pass more stars, "a ghost ship silently drifting through the dark room, " Larry Lasher says.

The probe will still intersect between the stars when there is no one on earth who could remember them. But even Pioneer's journey does not last forever. At some point, but only in billions of years, the interstellar matter, which rubs like the finest emery paper on the metal ghost ship, will destroy the probe. Their dust will spread in the boundless space between the stars.

=== Rüdiger Vaas

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice