لم يكن نيزك المريخ ALH84001 أكثر سخونة من 40 درجة مئوية في رحلته إلى الأرض. منذ 16 مليون سنة ، ضرب كويكب سطح المريخ وألقى كميات كبيرة من الصخور في الفضاء. من بينها قطعة بحجم البطاطس أنهت رحلتها عبر الفضاء منذ حوالي 13000 عام في القطب الجنوبي. في عام 1996 ، حقق النيزك ALH84001 شهرة مذهلة عندما اعتقد العلماء أنهم عثروا على كائنات دقيقة متحجرة فيها. على الرغم من أن الآمال كانت مخيبة للآمال قريبًا ، ولكن هذا لا يبدو مستحيلًا. يعتقد بنيامين فايس من معهد كاليفورنيا للتكنولوجيا أن هذا النيزك لم يصبح أكثر دفئًا من 40 درجة مئوية. وبالتالي ، يمكن للبكتيريا أو الجراثيم أو البذور من حيث المبدأ أن تنجو من المريخ وربما حتى الحياة على الأرض.

حقق Weiss في مركبة Marsbrocken تحت مجهر جهاز التداخل الكمومي فائق الدقة للمسح الضوئي (UHRSSM). بمساعدتها ، يمكن البحث عن اختلافات ضئيلة في الاتجاه المغناطيسي للمعادن الفردية. نتيجة للتدفئة ، تتم تسوية هذه الاختلافات. وحدث هذا في التجربة بالفعل عند درجات حرارة من 40 درجة مئوية. وبالتالي لم يتعرض الجزء الداخلي من النيزك ، الذي نشأت منه الأقراص الجيدة للتحقيق ، إلى درجات حرارة أعلى بعد تأثير الكويكب على المريخ. كانت الحياة التي تضمنها لها فرص جيدة للبقاء.

على الرغم من أن فايس لا يعتقد أن ALH84001 مفيد لمثل هذه المفاجآت ، فقد تكون الحياة بهذه الطريقة قد جاءت من المريخ إلى الأرض. تظهر المحاكاة الحاسوبية أنه منذ تكوين كلا الكواكب ، وصل إلى الأرض حوالي مليار طن من صخور المريخ. ومع اليقين الشديد ، كان الجو حارًا ورطبًا ومشمسًا على الكوكب الأحمر.

إعلان العلم

يواكيم شورينج

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

The Mars meteorite ALH84001 never got hotter than 40 degrees Celsius on its journey to Earth. 16 million years ago, an asteroid struck the surface of Mars and hurled large amounts of rock into space. Among them was a potato-sized piece that ended its journey through space some 13, 000 years ago in the Antarctic. In 1996, the meteorite ALH84001 achieved spectacular fame when scientists believed that they had found fossilized microorganisms in it. Although the hopes were soon disappointed, but this seems not to be impossible. Benjamin Weiss of the California Institute of Technology believes that this meteorite never got warmer than 40 degrees Celsius. Thus, bacteria, spores or seeds could in principle survive the journey from Mars and perhaps even ground life on Earth.

Weiss investigated the Marsbrocken under the Ultra High Resolution Scanning Superconducting Quantum Interference Device Microscope (UHRSSM). With its help, tiny differences in the magnetic orientation of individual minerals can be investigated. As a result of heating, these differences are equalized. And this happened in the experiment already at temperatures from 40 degrees Celsius. The interior of the meteorite, from which the fine disks for the investigation originated, was therefore never exposed to higher temperatures after the asteroid impact on Mars. The life it contained would have had good chances of survival.

Although Weiss does not believe that ALH84001 is good for such surprises, life in this way could have come from Mars to Earth. Computer simulations show that since the formation of both planets about one billion tons of Martian rock came to Earth. And with great certainty it was once warm, humid and sunny on the red planet.

Science ad

Joachim Schüring

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice