بالنسبة للمرضى الذين يعانون من التصلب الجانبي الضموري (ALS) ، مثل الفيزيائي البريطاني ستيفن هوكينغز ، قد يكون هناك بصيص من الأمل. في دراسة على الحيوانات ، ساعد باحثون أمريكيون في استعادة كل ثانية من الفأر المشلول عن طريق حقن الخلايا الجذعية في العمود الفقري. هاجرت الخلايا في النخاع الشوكي إلى تلك المناطق الأكثر تضررا بشدة من الشلل وعلى الأقل استعادة جزئيا وظيفة الخلايا العصبية.

تم تقديم النتائج يوم الأحد بواسطة باحثين من جامعة جونز هوبكنز في بالتيمور في اجتماع سنوي لجمعية العلوم العصبية في نيو أورليانز. الأطباء الأمريكيون لديهم أمل كبير في هذا النوع من الخلايا المعروف ، والذي ظل موجودًا منذ عامين فقط. من وجهة نظرهم ، يمكن للخلايا الجذعية الجنينية إصلاح عضلة القلب الضعيفة ، واستعادة المفاصل البالية ، وإصلاح عدد من مشاكل التنكس الأخرى.

وقال الباحث الرئيسي دوغلاس كير "الدراسة مهمة وتظهر مع الأمثلة الأولى أن الخلايا الجذعية يمكنها استعادة الوظائف المفقودة في مناطق واسعة من الجهاز العصبي المركزي مرة أخرى." حتى الآن ، لم يتم إثبات تأثير الخلايا الجذعية إلا في مناطق صغيرة من الدماغ بعد السكتة الدماغية أو مرض الشلل الرعاش.

علق زميله جيفري روثستاين على أنه من المرجح أن تؤدي النتيجة إلى تحسين علاج المرضى الذين يعانون من الشلل الناجم عن الاضطرابات العصبية الحركية مثل ALS وضمور العمود الفقري الحركي (SMA). "في أفضل الظروف الممكنة ، يمكن أن تبدأ التجارب السريرية الأولى في غضون عامين فقط."

التصلب الجانبي الضموري هو مرض شلل زاحف لا تزال أسبابه غير معروفة إلى حد كبير. يصاب مرضى ALS بالشلل التام في المراحل النهائية ، ولم يعد بإمكانهم التحدث والبلع وكثيراً ما يموتون اختناقًا قاسيًا. يقتل الحثل الشوكي عددًا أكبر من الأطفال الصغار من أي مرض وراثي آخر. يكافح الأطفال المصابون للتنفس وتناول الطعام ، وغالبًا ما يموتون في المهد. عرض

د ب أ

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

For patients who suffer from Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), such as British physicist Stephen Hawkings, there may be a ray of hope. In an animal study, US researchers helped recover every second paralyzed mouse by injecting stem cells into the spine. The cells migrated in the spinal cord to those areas most severely affected by paralysis and at least partially restored nerve cell function.

The findings were presented Sunday by researchers from Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore at an annual meeting of the Society for Neuroscience in New Orleans. US physicians have great hope for this well-known cell type, which has only been around for two years. From their point of view, embryonic stem cells could once repair weak heart muscle, restore worn joints, and repair a number of other degeneration problems.

"The study is significant and shows with the first examples that stem cells can restore lost functions in wide areas of the central nervous system once again, " noted lead author Douglas Kerr. So far, the effect of stem cells has been demonstrated only targeted in small areas of the brain after a stroke or Parkinson's disease.

The result is likely to improve the treatment of patients with paralysis from motor nerve disorders such as ALS and spinal motor atrophy (SMA), commented his colleague Jeffrey Rothstein. "In the best possible circumstances, the first clinical trials could begin in just two years."

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis is a creeping paralysis disease whose causes are still largely unexplained. ALS patients are completely paralyzed in the final stages, can no longer talk and swallow and often die a cruel asphyxiation. The Spinal Motoratrophy kills more toddlers than any other hereditary disease. The affected babies are struggling to breathe and eat food, often dying in the cradle. display

dpa

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice