القراءة بصوت عالٍ المعركة ضد الفوضى في الجو. في الطقس ، تثبت الطبيعة من جديد كل يوم مدى ترددها في النظر إلى الخرائط. كل التقدم في توقعات العاصفة والمطر وأشعة الشمس يجب أن يشتريها خبراء الأرصاد ببذل جهد هائل. توقعات الطقس المثالية لن تكون موجودة على الإطلاق يقول البروفيسور هورست مالبرج من معهد الأرصاد الجوية بجامعة فراي في برلين "في المستقبل المنظور ، أعتقد أن التنبؤ بالطقس المثالي أمر غير وارد". السبب: الجو في بعض الأحيان "على وشك" بين فرص التنمية المختلفة. يمكن أن يقرّر الجناح الشهير لفراشة الفراشة أو السحابة الواحدة في هذه الحالة كيف سيتطور الطقس. أدرك عالم الأرصاد الجوية الأمريكي إدوارد لورينز هذا الأمر في الستينيات من القرن الماضي - وقام بتطوير نظرية الفوضى منه.

على الأقل لبضعة أيام مقدمًا ، يشير خبراء الأرصاد الجوية إلى التغيير من مناطق الضغط المرتفع والمنخفض ، وواجهات المطر وفترات الطقس الجيدة ولكن "تحت السيطرة" جيدًا. معدل ضرب التنبؤات لليوم التالي هو في المتوسط ​​"أكثر من 90 في المئة" ، حسبما ذكرت هيئة الأرصاد الجوية الألمانية في أوفنباخ. ومع ذلك ، لا يمكن الحصول على معلومات تفصيلية حول كيفية تغير هذه النسبة المئوية خلال الأشهر والسنوات والعقود الماضية من قبل سكان أوفنباخ. "لا يمكنك مقارنة التوقعات ، حيث تم إعدادها قبل بضع سنوات ، مع الأساليب المتاحة اليوم" ، يشير المتحدث باسم الصحافة مينهارد غيبل. وبالتالي ستكون الأرقام "مضللة".

وضع أستاذ الأرصاد الجوية في برلين هورست مالبرج وموظفوه توقعات الطقس للمدينة على نهر سبري يوميًا لأكثر من 20 عامًا حتى نهاية عام 1991. استخدموا البيانات التي قدمتها خدمة الطقس الألمانية - وقيموا جودة توقعاتهم المتعلقة بهطول الأمطار ودرجة الحرارة والغطاء السحابي وقوة الرياح على مقياس يتراوح بين 0 و 100 نقطة مئوية.

والنتيجة: بين عامي 1971 و 1991 ، بالكاد تحسن معدل نجاح التوقعات من يوم إلى يومين. صعدت على مقياس الباحثين في مجال الطقس في برلين من أقل من 84 إلى حوالي 86 في المائة. يقول مالبرج: "هذا يدل على مدى شدة الأجواء ، على الرغم من كل التطورات التقنية والعلمية ، يجب انتزاع كل نقطة مئوية واحدة". لذلك فهو يعتبر أن قيمة ما يزيد عن 90 بالمائة في المتوسط ​​والتي صرحت بها دائرة الطقس الألمانية مرتفعة بشكل غير واقعي. عرض

يرى عالم الأرصاد في هامبورغ كلاوس فريدريك ، الذي كان يعمل على نماذج تنبؤية لسنوات عديدة ، أن الجمع بين النماذج الحسابية الكلاسيكية مع الأساليب الجديدة - مثل الشبكات العصبية - فرصة لتحسين التوقعات. تعتبر تنبؤات المجموعة واعدة. "الهدف من هذه الطريقة هو اكتشاف الخطأ وتحديده في كل التنبؤات" ، كما أوضح فريدريك. بدلاً من توقع واحد ، يقوم الكمبيوتر بحساب عدد كبير من التنبؤات بقيم أولية مختلفة قليلاً. والنتيجة هي ، على سبيل المثال ، معلومات حول احتمال هطول أمطار أو عواصف في مكان معين ويوم معين. هذا يعطي خبراء الأرصاد الجوية والمستخدمين معلومات قيمة عن موثوقية التوقعات في متناول اليد. تتصدر التوقعات طويلة الأجل لأشهر أو حتى مواسم كاملة قائمة الأمنيات للعديد من الباحثين في مجال الطقس.

في أستراليا وأمريكا الشمالية ، تم نشر تنبؤات الطقس لعدة أشهر لسنوات عديدة. يمكن لأخصائيي الأرصاد الجوية هناك الاعتماد على حليف قوي: النينيو ، الذي يضمن إيقاعًا لعدة سنوات لدرجات حرارة سطح مرتفعة بشكل استثنائي في المحيط الهادئ المداري. لها تأثير قوي للغاية على الطقس في المنطقة المحيطة بالمحيط الهادئ - وبالتالي تسهيل التنبؤات طويلة الأجل.

=== رالف جزار

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

Reading aloud The fight against the chaos in the atmosphere. In the weather, nature proves anew every day how reluctant it is to look at the maps. Every advance in the forecast of storm, rain and sunshine must be bought by the meteorologists with an immense effort. The perfect weather forecast will probably never exist In the foreseeable future, I believe that a perfect weather forecast is out of the question, "says Prof. Horst Malberg from the Institute of Meteorology, Freie Universität Berlin. The reason: the atmosphere is sometimes "on the verge" between different development opportunities. The famous wingbeat of a butterfly or a single cloud in this case can decide how the weather will develop. The American meteorologist Edward Lorenz recognized this in the sixties - and developed the chaos theory from it.

At least for a few days in advance, the meteorologists mean the change from high and low pressure areas, rain fronts and fine weather periods but quite good "under control" to have. The hit rate of the predictions for the next day is on average at "well over 90 percent", reported by the German Weather Service in Offenbach. However, detailed information on how this percentage has changed in the course of the past months, years and decades can not be elicited from the people of Offenbach. "You can not compare forecasts, as they were made a few years ago, with the methods available today, " press spokesman Meinhard Giebel points out. The numbers would therefore be "misleading".

The Berlin meteorology professor Horst Malberg and his staff have created a weather forecast for the city on the Spree every day for more than 20 years until the end of 1991. They used data provided by the German Weather Service - and evaluated the quality of their forecasts for precipitation, temperature, cloud cover and wind force on a scale of 0 to 100 percentage points.

The result: between 1971 and 1991, the hit rate of one to two day forecasts has barely improved. She climbed on the scale of the Berlin weather researchers from just under 84 to about 86 percent. "This shows how laboriously the atmosphere, despite all technical and scientific advances every single percentage point must be wrested, " says Malberg. He therefore considers the value of an average of far more than 90 percent officially stated by the German Weather Service to be unrealistically high. display

The Hamburg meteorologist Klaus Fraedrich, who has been working on predictive models for many years, sees a combination of classical computational models with novel methods - such as neural networks - as an opportunity to improve forecasts. Ensemble predictions are considered promising. "The goal of this method is to find out and state the error in each prediction, " explains Fraedrich. Instead of a single forecast, the computer calculates a large number of forecasts with slightly different initial values. The result is, for example, information about the probability with which it rains or storms in a certain place and day. This gives the meteorologists and users valuable information on the reliability of the forecasts at hand. Long-term forecasts for months or even whole seasons are high on the wish list of many weather researchers.

In Australia and North America, weather forecasts for several months have been published for many years. The meteorologists there can rely on a powerful ally: El Niño, which ensures a rhythm of several years for exceptionally high surface temperatures in the tropical Pacific. It has a very strong influence on the weather in the region around the Pacific Ocean - thus facilitating long-term forecasts.

=== Ralf Butscher

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice