حشرة يانكونودون أليني عاش تحت الديناصورات الطباشيري.
قراءة عظام 30 حشرة من الحشرات ، التي عاشت قبل 125 مليون عام في الصين اليوم ، تمنح علماء الأحافير قدراً كبيراً من الحماس ، وللمرة الأولى ، يظهر يانوكونودون أليني الأحفوري كيف تطورت السمع القوية للثدييات من الفك الزواحف النموذجي ، وفقًا للباحثين زهي شي لوه من متحف كارنيجي في بيتسبرغ. يمكن أن تسمع الثدييات أفضل من جميع الفقاريات الأخرى. ويعود السبب في ذلك إلى البناء المعقد للأذن الوسطى: تنتقل الموجات الصوتية من الهواء عبر طبلة الأذن إلى مطرقة العظايا والسندان والركاب الذي ينقل الاهتزازات إلى السائل الموجود في الأذن الداخلية. لفترة طويلة كان العلماء التطوريون يشتبهون في أن العظام الثلاثة الموجودة في سلف الثدييات الحالية لا تزال تنتمي إلى الفك. في أجنة بعض مجموعات الثدييات ، لا يزال هذا الانتقال ملحوظًا.

تثبت عظام Yanoconodon الآن لأول مرة أن النظرية صحيحة. على الرغم من أن شكل المطرقة والسندان يشبهان شكل خلد الماء الحديث ، إلا أنهما لا يزالان متصلين بالفك السفلي بواسطة الغضاريف المتحجرة. يقول لوه: "من الواضح أن يانوكودون مرحلة انتقالية في تطور الأذن الوسطى للثدييات. هذه الحفرية المحفوظة بشكل رائع توفر الدليل".

ومع ذلك ، يظل الأمر محيرًا ، لماذا يكون للصفحات الأنفية أذن حديثة ، على الرغم من أن نسبها كانت في وقت سابق قد ابتعدت عن شجرة عائلة الثدييات باعتبارها الأسرة التي ينتمي إليها يانوكونودون. لدى الباحثين تفسيران محتملان لهذه الظاهرة: إما أن جلسة استماع الثدييات الدقيقة قد تطورت مرتين بشكل مستقل ، أو أنها فقدت مرة أخرى في يانوكودون وأقاربه.

لدى الحفرية أيضًا ميزات أخرى غير عادية: كان للحيوان الصغير الذي يأكل الحشرات والديدان 26 فقرة. تحتوي جميع الثدييات المنقرضة والحيوية تقريبًا على 19 أو 20 فقرة. حتى في منطقة أسفل الظهر ، كان يانوكونودون لا يزال يعاني من أضلاعه ، وهو أمر نادر للغاية أيضًا في الثدييات الحديثة. من المحتمل أن يكون الحيوان قد زحف على الأرض وأرجله القصيرة وأقدامه البدائية جيدة للزحف والحفر. الأحفوري يأتي من طبقات التكوين Yixian ، والتي تعطي رؤية فريدة من نوعها للعالم الطباشيري الأوسط: بالإضافة إلى الديناصورات الشهيرة الريش وجدت في العديد من الثدييات غير عادية أخرى من الدهر الوسيط. عرض

Zhe-Xi Luo (متحف كارنيجي للتاريخ الطبيعي ، بيتسبيرغ ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية): المجلد الطبيعي 446 ، الصفحة 288 ، أوت كيسي

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

The insectivore Yanoconodon allini lived under the Cretaceous dinosaurs.
Reading The bones of a 30-gram insectivore, which lived 125 million years ago in today's China, gives paleontologists great enthusiasm. For the first time, the fossil Yanoconodon allini shows how powerful mammalian hearing developed from a typical reptilian jaw, researchers report Zhe-Xi Luo from the Carnegie Museum in Pittsburgh. Mammals can hear better than all other vertebrates. They owe this to the complicated construction of the middle ear: the sound waves from the air are transmitted through the eardrum to the ossicles hammer, anvil and stirrup, which transmit the vibrations to the fluid in the inner ear. For a long time evolutionary scientists had suspected that the three bones in an ancestor of today's mammals still belonged to the jaw. In the embryos of some mammal groups, this transition is still observed.

The tender bones of Yanoconodon now prove for the first time that the theory is correct. Although the shape of the hammer and anvil are similar to those of a modern platypus, they are still connected to the lower jaw by ossified cartilage. "Yanocodon is clearly a transitional stage in the evolution of the mammalian middle ear, " says Luo, "this wonderfully preserved fossil provides the evidence."

It remains puzzling, however, why platypuses have a modern ear, although their lineage earlier diverged from the family tree of the mammals as the family to which Yanoconodon belongs. The researchers have two possible explanations for this phenomenon: Either the fine mammalian hearing developed twice independently, or it was lost again in Yanocodon and his relatives.

The fossil also has other unusual features: The small, insect and worm-eating animal had 26 vertebrae. Nearly all extinct and living mammals, however, have 19 or 20 vertebrae. Even in the lumbar region Yanoconodon still had ribs, which is also extremely rare in modern mammals. The animal probably crawled on the ground, its short legs and primitive feet good for crawling and digging. The fossil comes from the layers of the Yixian Formation, which gives a unique view of the Middle Cretaceous world: In addition to the famous feathered dinosaurs were found in it several other unusual mammals of the Mesozoic. display

Zhe-Xi Luo (Carnegie Museum of Natural History, Pittsburgh, USA): Nature Vol. 446, p. 288 Ute Kehse

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice