اقرأ بصوت عالٍ فقط يمكن أن تكون رعاية الوالدين قاتلة بالنسبة لأشبال الطيور. اكتشف توماس مارتن من وحدة أبحاث الحياة البرية التعاونية في مونتانا التابعة لجامعة مونتانا وزملاؤه أن العديد من الأعداء لا يدركون إلا أعشاشهم الخفية عن طريق النهج المستمر ومغادرة آبائهم.

حتى الآن ، افترض الباحثون أن العش المموه جيدًا يضمن بقاء الأولاد. لكن من الواضح أن نشاط الوالدين أثناء التربية يلعب دورًا مهمًا.

كجزء من الدراسة ، تابعت مجموعة العمل عشرة أنواع من الطيور خلال الحضنة. اعتمادًا على كمية الأنواع التي تهتم بنسلها ، ظهر السنجاب أو جاي في مكان الحادث بتواتر متفاوت لمهاجمة الصبي. إن الرعاية الأبوية هي التي جذبت الأعداء بالفعل نتيجة الملاحظات الطويلة المدى من الاستحالة إلى الوقت الذي غادر فيه الأولاد العش.

بينما يفقس البيض ، يجلس معظم الآباء بلا حراك في العش معظم الوقت. لذلك ، البيض آمن نسبيا من الأعداء في هذا الوقت. فقط عندما تتغذى الطيور البالغة باستمرار على الطعام وتحافظ على نظافة العش ، يزداد خطر الهجمات العدائية. أنواع الطيور التي يهتم بها الوالدان بشكل خاص حول النسل كانت أكثر عرضة للخطر.
الصورة: توماس مارتن

يواكيم شورينج الإعلان

© science.de

موصى به اختيار المحرر

Read aloud Just the parental care can be deadly for bird cubs. Thomas Martin from the Montana Cooperative Wildlife Research Unit of the University of Montana and his colleagues discovered that many enemies only become aware of the hidden nests by the constant approach and departure of their parents.

So far, the researchers assumed that a well camouflaged nest guarantees the survival of the boys. But obviously the activity of the parents during the rearing plays an important role.

As part of the study, the working group followed ten species of birds during the brood. Depending on how much a species cared for their offspring, squirrel or jay came on the scene with varying frequency to attack the boy. That it was indeed the parental care that attracted the enemies resulted from long-term observations from oviposition to the time the boys left the nest.

While the eggs hatch, most parents sit motionless in the nest most of the time. Therefore, the eggs are relatively safe from enemies at this time. Only when the adult birds are constantly foraging for food and keep the nest clean, the danger of hostile attacks increases. Bird species in which the parents are particularly concerned about the offspring were therefore more at risk.
Image: Thomas Martin

Joachim Schüring advertisement

© science.de

Recommended Editor'S Choice